The SAAC mission is to enhance the total student-athlete experience by promoting opportunity, protecting student-athlete welfare and fostering a positive image. This is achieved through provided community service opportunities and campus activism for all varsity student-athletes, voting on National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) and athletic conference legislation, and being the voice of varsity student-athletes on campus.


Stanley Broaden

Vice President
External Operations
Zach Bost

Vice President
Internal Operations
Emily Corrigan

Events Lead
Sean Mason

Community Service
Amber Driver

Mountaineer Cup
Farrahn Wood

SAAC E-Board Rep.
Peter Ovendorf

Mountaineer Cup
Mallary Price

Digital Media Chair
Taryn Stern

SAAC E-Board Rep.
Lily Yatawara

Public Relations Lead
Sloan Evans

SAAC E-Board Rep.
Caleb McCann
SAAC E-Board Rep
Mason Lasater
SAAC Advisor
Brittney Whiteside 


Student-Athlete Advisory Committee team representatives are determined and appointed by each respective intercollegiate team at Appalachian State. In addition to attending bi-weekly meetings, SAAC representatives are responsible for communicating SAAC developments and opportunities to their teammates on an ongoing basis. Representatives for the 2015-2016 year include:
Team SAAC Representatives
Baseball Sean Mason and Caleb McCann
Men's Basketball Michael Obacha and Bennett Holley
Women's Basketball Amber Driver and Farrahn Wood
Field Hockey Jordan Van Cleave and Rebecca McLean
Football Malachi Jones, Tyson Fernandez, John Law and Doug Middleton
Men's Golf Kyle Austin and Patrick Moriarty
Women's Golf Hannah Craver and Lily Yatawara
Men's Soccer Mason McCarter and Jordan Melia
Women's Soccer Sam Steyl, Lindsey Tully and Sarah Peatross
Softball Katie Mathewson and Vanessa Ciocatto
Men's Tennis Scott Webster and Zach Bost
Women's Tennis Mackenzie LaSure and Gabrielle Wreder
Men's Track & Field/Cross Country Evan Georges, Stanley Broaden, Mason Lasater and Pete Ovendorf
Women's Track & Field/Cross Country Samantha Campanaro, Mallary Price, Tristin Van Ord and Taryn Stern
Volleyball Emily Corrigan and Sloan Evans
Wrestling Tyler Radford and Elliot Raiford
Athletic Training Ben Morse and Rebecca Hawthorne