NEW YORK – The Columbia men's basketball program honored the 2017-18 team and its five graduating seniors - Kyle Castlin and Nate Hickman Thursday, April 26, at its end of year banquet. Both spoke at the event, held in the Milstein Pavilion in the Campbell Sports Center, reflecting on their four years in a Columbia uniform.

At the start of the night, head coach Jim Engles and Campbell Family Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Peter Pilling, each spoke to the crowd before awards were presented.

Jon Knapp '91CC was the recipient of the Gerald Sherwin Alumni Award to reflect the vital contributions made by a selected loyal and passionate men's basketball alumnus.

Lukas Meisner earned the Sheldon B. Preschel Memorial Award as well as Defensive Player of the Year. The Preschel Award is given to a junior or senior member of the basketball team who achieves the best cumulative scholastic average through the fall semester.

Jake Killingsworth took home the Feinberg Family Award, given to the member of the team who displays an outstanding commitment to the greater Columbia University community and his teammates.

Castlin received the Jason Wachob award, given to a member of the team "who in the estimation of his teammates and coaches, fought through adversity and never gave up on his teammates or himself." 

First-year Luke Bolster took home the Walter H. Bernson Memorial award, given to the member of the team who best exemplifies the qualities of team spirit, hustle and determination.

The Raymond J. Fullerton Memorial award, given to that member of the team who, in the estimation of his teammates and coaches, is judged to be the most valuable in terms of spirit, team play and skill, was given to sophomore Mike Smith, who took home second-team All-Ivy League and third team All-Met honors.