SPRINGFIELD, Mass. — Columbia senior Camille Zimmerman has been named to the preseason watch list for the inaugural Katrina McClain Award, recognizing the top power forward in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. The award is presented by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

Zimmerman is one of 20 players nationwide to land on the 2018 Katrina McClain Award watch list. The selection committee for the Katrina McClain Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2018 Katrina McClain Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. McClain-Pittman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalist at www.hoophallawards.com.

The winner of the 2018 Katrina McClain Power Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30.

“This national recognition is a testament to Camille’s continual growth as a player,” said Columbia head coach Megan Griffith. “Her commitment to evolve her game and relentless approach to improve are admirable. I know she is ready to attack this season and prove that she is one of the nation’s best. It is a great honor for her to be selected to the watch list.”

Zimmerman is coming off a junior season in which she broke Columbia’s single-season scoring records in both total points (608) and points per game (22.5). Both of the previous records had stood since the 1980s. Zimmerman is 40 points from becoming Columbia’s all-time leading scorer, entering Friday’s season opener with 1,408 career points.

At the conclusion of the 2016-17 season, Zimmerman was a unanimous First Team All-Ivy League selection. She went on to be named All-Met Div. I women’s college basketball Player of the Year by the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association, becoming the first Lion in program history to receive the award. Zimmerman was the only women’s basketball player in the country to lead her team in points, rebounds, assists, blocks and steals, The Tempe, Arizona, native also ranked among the top 50 in the NCAA in eight statistical categories.

For more information on the 2018 Katrina McClain Award, visit www.hoophallawards.com.

2018 Katrina McClain Award Candidates
Lauren Cox - Baylor
Kristine Anigwe - California
Camille Zimmerman - Columbia
Napheesa Collier - Connecticut
Leaonna Odom - Duke
Haley Lorenzen - Florida
G'mrice Davis - Fordham
Caliya Robinson - Georgia
Ashunae Durant - Hofstra
Megan Gustafson - Iowa
Myisha Hines-Allen - Louisville
Erkah Davenport - Miami
Alex Johnson - Middle Tennessee
Jordan Frericks - Missouri
Ruthy Hebard - Oregon
Michelle Nwokedi - Penn
Bella Alarie - Princeton
Mael Gilles - Rutgers
Maria Jesperson - South Florida
Jatarie White - Texas