NEW YORK - Columbia's M. Dianne Murphy, Director, Intercollegiate Athletics and Physical Education will be inducted as part of the University of Denver's Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2012 on Thursday, October 25.

The 14th celebration for the DU Athletic Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held in Hamilton Gymnasium at the Daniel L. Ritchie Center for Sports and Wellness on the University of Denver campus.

Murphy served as the Director of Athletics at Denver from 1998-2004. She successfully guided the Pioneers’ transition from NCAA Division II to Division I in 1998 and managed the building and opening of the prestigious Daniel L. Ritchie Center for Sports and Wellness.

Denver’s athletic and academic excellence was a model for national recognition as the Pioneers captured four national championships and made 25 NCAA Tournament appearances in her six years at the helm.

During Murphy's time on Morningside Heights, Columbia teams have excelled across the board. Since 2004, Columbia has won Ivy League titles in baseball, men's cross country, women's cross country, men's fencing, women's fencing, women's indoor track and field, men's golf, women's golf, women's soccer and men's tennis. In 2010-11, 22 Columbia student-athletes won Ivy League individual championships, the most ever in a single academic year in school history. 

Murphy also spearheaded the Columbia Athletics Hall of Fame, which had its inaugural ceremony in 2006. The fourth class of the Columbia Athletics Hall of Fame was inducted on Thursday, October 18, 2012.