Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
article image
Courtesy: Duke Athletics
Duke Caps Solid Performance at Head of the Charles
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 10/22/2017
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. – The Duke rowing team opened its fall campaign over the weekend at the 53rd annual Head of the Charles in Cambridge, Mass.

“This weekend was a solid return for Duke,” head coach Megan Cooke Carcagno said. “It’s tough when you have to start at the back of the pack. Our Champ 8 did well and places 16-21 were separated by just a few seconds. That’s one turn or a few wakes. Our freshman four had a great race, and got stuck on the outside in the last two minutes. Our Champ four started well, but got stuck on the buoy line and lost critical time. All in all – that’s the Charles. You race, you learn, you have fun. That’s what this is all about. Now, we spend the next few weeks making big steps in speed and aim to do well against our fellow ACC competitors. A big congrats to our alumni for racing so well!”

The collegiate/club 4 boat kicked off competition on Saturday and captured a sixth-place finish in a time of 18:38.05. The Blue Devils were led by coxswain Leeloo Gilet, Catherine Dana, Caitlyn Carlisle, Laura Navarrete and Katherine Lustig and trailed only Alabama, Penn, Tennessee, Dartmouth and Marist in a field of 53 boats.

Coxswain Tara Fagan, Sophie Simister, Grace Garverick, Tara Christensen and Rhea Bergman guided Duke to 15th in the champ 4 boat on Sunday afternoon in a time of 18:32.23.

Capping the weekend for Duke was the champ 8 boat of coxswain Meagan Lew, Isabel Ruby-Hill, Olivia Mendonca, Lelia Boley, Sarah Fletcher, Shannon Tierney, Celia Macrae, Taji Phillips and Katherine Maitland. The 8s registered a time of 15:46.29 to take 19th out of 36 boats.

The Blue Devils will return to competition Sunday, Oct. 29 in Princeton, N.J., for the Princeton Chase.

Duke Lineups
Collegiate/Club 4 – coxswain Leeloo GiletCatherine DanaCaitlyn CarlisleLaura Navarrete and Katherine Lustig 
Champ 4 – coxswain Tara FaganSophie SimisterGrace GarverickTara Christensen and Rhea Bergman
Champ 8 – coxswain Meagan LewIsabel Ruby-HillOlivia MendoncaLelia BoleySarah FletcherShannon TierneyCelia MacraeTaji Phillips and Katherine Maitland


Men's Basketball vs. Princeton Radio
Tue, Dec 18 at 5:00 PM
Men's Basketball vs. Texas Tech Radio
Thu, Dec 20 at 6:00 PM
Women's Basketball at Oregon State
Thu, Dec 20 at 9:45 PM
Independence Bowl: Duke vs. Temple
Thu, Dec 27 at 12:00 PM