Filip Svedberg
Filip Svedberg

Swimming Sweeps the Weekend

October 27, 2019
By ODU Athletics

BUIES CREEK, N.C. – Old Dominion University women’s swimming defeated Garner-Webb and Campbell on Saturday, while the men’s squad knocked off Gardner-Webb.

The women beat Gardner-Webb 184-75 and Campbell 134-127, while the men beat Gardner-Webb 140-122.

The Monarchs’ first win of the day was in the 200-medley relay, as Neal McElhattan, Peter Durisin, Filip Svedberg and Parker Harp won in a time of 1:33.60.

The women’s squad got on the board as Jacqueline Tinneny won the 1000 freestyle with a time of 10:36.55. Brynn Jewel took third with a time of 10:49.12.

Hunter Young won the men’s 1000 freestyle in a time of 10:02.56, while Brennan Carroll took third in a time of 10:06.88.

Miranda Byrne took second in the 200 freestyle with a time of 1:51.79, while Alex Arrieta won the men’s 200 freestyle, with Hugo Eriksson taking third.

Jacklyn VandePoel triumphed in the 100 backstroke with a winning time of 58.15. VandePoel also was victorious in the 200 backstroke with a time of 2:04.70. McElhattan finished second in the 100 backstroke with a time of 52.62.

The women’s squad swept the 100 breastroke as Tara Enneking won in 1:05.65, while Gabby Tosi and Paige Romine took second and third, respectively.

Nathan Kimbel won the men’s 100 breastroke with Durisin taking second.

Svedberg won the 200 butterfly in 1:53.18. He also won the 100 freestyle with a time of 46.86.

Continuing the winning theme, Summer Miln won the 50 freestyle in 24.08. Parker Harp finished in second with a time of 21.43 in the men’s 50 freestyle.

Jacob Cobb won the 200 backstroke with a time of 1:54.61, while Paige Romine won the women’s 200 breaststroke in a time of 2:29.74. Nathan Kimbel won the men's 200 breaststroke in a time of 2:08.47, while Durisin finished second in 2:09.02.

Miranda Byrne and Tinneny went 1-2 in the 500 freestyle, as Byrne won the event with a time of 5:11.85, and Tinneny finished in 5:13.39.

Hunter Young took second in the 500 freestyle with a time of 4:52.31.

Arrieta and McElhattan placed second and third in the 100 fly.

The final individual event, the 200 IM, was won by Tinneny with a time of 2:09.93. Cobb and Arrieta finished second and third just .43 apart.

The final event of the night was the 200 freestyle relay, with the women's squad of Tinneny, Byrne, Ellett and Miln placing fourth, and the men's team of Nick Wukovits, Svedberg, Arrieta and Parker Harp finishing in second.

MORE IN Swimming & Diving


ODU Swim-Dive vs Campbell vs VMI vs Howard
UNCW vs. ODU | Swimming & Diving
Swimming and Diving: Virginia Wesleyan Recap