Rick Voight

Garriola Headlines Six Monarchs to Earn All-C-USA Honors

May 20, 2019
By ODU Athletics

BILOXI, Miss. -- Andy Garriola was named the Conference USA Freshman of the Year and a total of six Monarchs earned All-Conference USA honors, the league announced on Tuesday.

Garriola and Vinnie Pasquantino were both named to the All-C-USA First Team, while Bryce Windham, Ryne Moore and Hunter Gregory both landed on the Second Team. Garriola and Ryan Teschko were named to the All-Freshman Team. 

With two First Team and three Second Team selections, the five all-conference selections are the most for ODU since 2006.

Garriola, an outfielder, has had a record-setting freshman season. The California native is hitting .326 with 18 doubles, 10 home runs and 61 RBIs and leads the league in all four of those categories. Garriola's 61 RBIs are also a new ODU freshman record and are the most by any Monarch since 2011. Garriola becomes the eighth ODU player and first since 2009 to be named the conference freshman of the year.

Pasquantino, a first baseman, leads ODU and ranks third in the league in home runs with 15. The Monarchs' 3-hole hitter is batting .298 with 51 RBIs and has hit 12 home runs since the beginning of April. In conference play, Pasquantino hit .310 with 11 home runs and 35 RBIs.

Windham, a utility player who played primarily third base in conference play, leads ODU in batting as a senior with a .343 average. The team's leadoff hitter, Windham has a .465 on-base percentage and has a drawn a league-leading 44 walks to go along with three home runs and 24 RBIs.

Moore, a right-handed starting pitcher, is 6-3 with a 4.01 ERA in 15 appearances and 12 starts. The Pennsylvania native has four quality starts, including 7-inning, complete-game shutout against Charlotte. Moore also picked up his first career save in the series-clinching win over Marshall.

Gregory, a relief pitcher, has a 3.92 ERA and two saves in a team-high 27 appearances. At 7-3, the Hickory High product leads the team in wins. Gregory also leads the team in strikeouts with 85, the most by a Monarch since 2011.

Teschko, an outfielder, joined Garriola on the All-Freshman Team. The New Jersey native has started 37 games and is hitting .292 with five extra-base hits, 17 RBIs and seven stolen bases. In league games, Teschko improved his average to .317. 

View the complete listing of all-conference awards and teams below and read the league's full release here.

Player Of The Year: Jake Sanford, Jr., OF, WKU
Pitcher Of The Year: Matt Canterino, Jr., SP, Rice
Freshman Of The Year: Andy Garriola, Fr., OF, Old Dominion
Newcomer Of The Year: Jake Sanford, Jr., OF, WKU
Defensive Player Of The Year: Pedro Pages, Jr., C, Florida Atlantic
Coach Of The Year: John McCormack, Florida Atlantic
Assistant Coach Of The Year: Greg Mamula, Florida Atlantic

C Harris Yett, Sr., Charlotte
IF Bryan Arias, Sr., UTSA
IF Mason Mallard, Jr., Louisiana Tech
IF Elvis Peralta, Jr., Marshall
IF Vinnie Pasquantino, Jr., Old Dominion
OF Andy Garriola, Fr., Old Dominion
OF Jake Sanford, Jr., WKU
OF Matt Wallner, Jr., Southern Miss
DH Andrew Dunlap, Sr., Rice
UT Logan Allen, So., FIU
SP Matt Canterino, Jr., Rice
SP Karan Patel, Sr., UTSA
SP Walker Powell, Jr., Southern Miss
SP Blake Sanderson, Sr., Florida Atlantic
RP Braxton Smith, Sr., Louisiana Tech
RP Zach Schneider, Sr., Florida Atlantic

C Pedro Pages, Jr., Florida Atlantic
IF Trei Cruz, So., Rice
IF Austin Shenton, Jr., FIU
IF Hunter Slater, Sr., Southern Miss
IF Bryce Windham, Sr., Old Dominion
OF Parker Bates, Jr., Louisiana Tech
OF Gabe Montenegro, So., Southern Miss
OF Andru Summerall, So., Florida Atlantic
DH Bryant Bowen, Jr., Southern Miss
UT Peyton Wiggington, So., Middle Tennessee
SP Joshua Shapiro, Sr., Marshall
SP Evan Kravetz, So., Rice
SP Matt Miller, Sr., Louisiana Tech
SP Ryne Moore, So., Old Dominion
RP Hunter Gregory, So., Old Dominion
RP Colby Bruce, Jr., Charlotte

IF Josh Haney, Charlotte
IF Danny Lynch, Southern Miss
OF/IF Luke Edwards, Marshall
OF Jarrett Ford, FIU
OF Mitchell Hartigan, Florida Atlantic
OF Andy Garriola, Old Dominion
OF Ryan Teschko, Old Dominion
OF Jess Davis, UAB
OF Jackson Swiney, WKU
LHP Jonathan Fincher, Louisiana Tech
RHP Josh Young, Middle Tennessee
IF/RHP Jacob Josey, Florida Atlantic

Follow @ODUBaseball on Twitter for the latest updates on the Monarchs. 

MORE IN Baseball


Guzzo, Gomes Tidewater Baseball Shrine Interview
Baseball: UTSA C-USA TOURNEY Highlights
Baseball: WKU C-USA TOURNEY Highlights