ODU Athletics

Rowing Set for AAC Championships in Oklahoma City

May 16, 2019
By ODU Athletics

OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. – The Old Dominion women’s rowing team is set to travel to Oklahoma for the American Athletic Conference Championship hosted by the AAC and Tulsa. The event was originally scheduled to begin on Sunday, May 19 but due to expected weather concerns it has been rescheduled to begin on Friday, May 17. 

In their first season in the league, ODU competed in five events in the Spring. The 1V8+ boat was named American Conference Boat of the Week on April 23.

“I’m very excited about this weekend’s championship; I’m eager to see what our youth can produce and take away from our experience to build upon in this off season,” said head coach Dan Garbutt. “Being a part of such an active and developing conference has been a real treat and I look forward to a growing relationship”

ODU will be competing in three races. To open things up for the Monarchs, the 1V8+ boat will race starting at 8 a.m. ET in lane 7. The 2V8+ boat will then follow at 8:30 a.m. in lane 7 and the 1V4+ at 9 a.m. 

The conference’s team championship and automatic qualifier will be determined by points accrued in the three NCAA events: 1V4+, 2V8+ and 1V8+.

ODU Schedule at AAC Championship
Sunday, May 19
1V8+ – 8 am ET/7 am CT (Lane 7)
2V8+ – 8:30 am ET/7:30 am CT (Lane 7)
1V4+ – 9 am ET/8 am CT (Lane 7)

ODU Lineups

1V8+ 2V8+ 1V4+
McFadden (C) Cohen (C) McNealy (C)
Phy Rivera-Cortes Lockie
Rascoe Miller Doherty
Demateva P. Smith Carlisle
Williams Schindler Welsh
Tobola McLaughlin
Petfield Fluharty
Murley Razon
Taylor Jones

 

MORE IN Women's Rowing

MONARCH MEDIA
AAC

play
Women's Rowing: Recap vs GMU
play
Women's Rowing: Highlights vs GMU
play
Irena Tobola