ODU Athletics

Young, Rutherford Headline All-C-USA Awards for ODU

May 23, 2017
By ODU Athletics

IRVING, Texas -- Jared Young and Zach Rutherford both earned specialty awards and a total of six Monarchs earned All-Conference USA honors, the league office announced on Tuesday.

Young, a juco transfer from Connors State Community College in Oklahoma, was named the Newcomer of the Year, while Rutherford was named the Defensive Player of the Year.

Rutherford, Young and Adam Bainbridge were all named to the all-conference first team, while the freshman trio of Kyle Battle, Vinnie Pasquantino and John Wilson all landed on the all-freshman team.

Rutherford, a shortstop from Chesapeake, was named the Defensive Player of the Year, in addition to landing on the all-conference first team. Rutherford has committed just four errors this season, while leading the league in assists with 191, 30 more than any other player in the conference. Rutherford's current fielding percentage of .985 would be a single-season school record for shortstops. At the plate, Rutherford is hitting .345 with 25 doubles, two home runs and 55 RBIs. His 25 doubles lead the conference and rank third in the nation, while the 55 RBIs are second in C-USA.

Young, a second baseman from Prince George, Canada, earned both Newcomer of the Year and first team all-conference honors, following a breakthrough season in his first year at ODU. A juco transfer from Connors State Community College, Young leads the Monarchs with a .374 average, seven home runs and an OPS of 1.037. Young, who was also named to the C-USA All-Academic Team yesterday, hit a league-leading .433 in conference games, 20 points higher than any other player.

Bainbridge, a left-handed pitcher from Sinking Spring, Pennsylvania, is 7-3 with a 3.46 ERA on the year. The Saturday starter, Bainbridge leads the conference in innings pitched with 91.0 and has struck out a team-high 67, while walking only 19. Bainbridge is one of just four pitchers in C-USA who have thrown two complete games and also tossed a four-hit shutout against Charlotte, the first by a Monarch pitcher since 2013.

Battle, Pasquantino and Wilson marked three of the 11 selections on the all-freshman team. Battle, an outfielder from Glen Allen, is hitting .335, which ranks third on the team, with 35 RBIs and six stolen bases. Pasquantino, a first baseman from Moseley, is hitting .324 to go along with five home runs and 35 RBIs, which both rank third on ODU. Wilson, a starting pitcher from Pittstown, New Jersey, is 6-1 with a 3.41 ERA in 12 starts. Opponents are hitting just .213 off of Wilson, who has been the starting pitcher in two combined shutouts this season.

For more information on the Conference USA Baseball awards, visit ConferenceUSA.com. In addition, a full list of honorees can be found below.

C-USA Awards
Player of the Year Dylan Burdeaux So. Miss
Pitcher of the Year Nate Harris LA Tech
Freshman of the Year Matt Wallner So. Miss
Newcomer of the Year Jared Young ODU
Defensive Player of the Year Zach Rutherford ODU
Coach of the Year Scott Berry So. Miss
Assistant of the Year Chad Caillet So. Miss

All-C-USA First Team
C Brent Diaz Sr. LA Tech
IF Dylan Burdeaux Sr. So. Miss
IF Tyler Frank Sr. FAU
IF Zach Rutherford Jr. ODU
IF Jared Young Jr. ODU
OF TJ Nichting Sr. Charlotte
OF Raphael Gladu Sr. LA Tech
OF Sam Finfer Sr. Marshall
DH Aaron Aucker Jr. MTSU
UT Taylor Braley Jr. So. Miss
SP Adam Bainbridge Sr. ODU
SP Nate Harris Sr. LA Tech
SP Colton Laws So. Charlotte
SP Kirk McCarty Sr. So. Miss
RP Nick Sandlin So. So. Miss
RP Colt Smith Jr. So. Miss
All-C-USA Second Team
C Dominic DiCaprio So. Rice
IF Riley Delgado Sr. MTSU
IF JC Escarra Jr. FIU
IF Chase Lunceford Sr. LA Tech
IF Brett Netzer Jr. Charlotte
IF Jordan Washam Sr. LA Tech
OF Brewer Hicklen So. UAB
OF Mason Irby Jr. So. Miss
OF Matt Wallner Fr. So. Miss
DH Jared Shouppe Sr. FAU
UT Dane Myers Jr. Rice
SP Zach Flanagan Jr. Charlotte
SP Tyler Giovanoni Jr. UTSA
SP Thomas Lowery Sr. UAB
SP Wade Martin So. Marshall
RP Karl Craigie Sr. UTSA
RP Cameron Ragsdale Sr. FAU
C-USA All-Freshman Team
C Zack Smith Charlotte
1B Vinnie Pasquantino ODU
OF Eric Rivera FAU
OF Kyle Battle ODU
OF Matt Wallner So. Miss
P Matt Brooks Charlotte
P Nick MacDonald FIU
P Tyler Myrick FIU
P Kyle Griffen LA Tech
P John Wilson ODU
P Matt Canterino Rice

MORE IN Baseball


Guzzo, Gomes Tidewater Baseball Shrine Interview
Baseball: UTSA C-USA TOURNEY Highlights
Baseball: WKU C-USA TOURNEY Highlights