Men's Golf Coaching Staff
Murray Rudisill
Head Coach
Coach Info:
Position: Head Coach
Hometown: Gastonia, N.C.
Experience: 42 Years
Phone: (757) 683-3300

A six-time conference and five-time Virginia State Coach of- the-Year, Dr. Murray Rudisill has been the head coach at Old Dominion University for 42 years. During his tenure, the Monarch program has grown into one of the top rated teams in the Southeast.

Last season, in 2018-19, the Monarchs recorded a pair of top-5 finishes, including a 3rd-place finish at the Pinehurst Intercollegiate and a 4th-place at the ODU/OBX Intercollegiate. The Monarchs also finished 11th at the Conference USA Championship.

In 2017-18, the Monarchs notched a pair of third-place finishes, including at the ODU/OBX Intercollegiate at Kilmarlic Golf Club. ODU then placed seventh at the C-USA Championship.

ODU men’s golf was named a GCAA All-Academic Team in 2015 under Rudisill’s guidance, and the Monarchs tied for sixth at the C-USA Championships.

In 2009, Eric Onesi earned an at-large bid to the NCAA Regional.

In 2008, Monarch Eric Onesi finished second at the prestigious Eastern Amateur, and Jeffrey Long placed seventh at the Virginia State Open.

In 2007 the Monarchs captured the CAA title and advanced to the NCAA East Regional. Rudisill was named Coach of the Year in the CAA and state of Virginia. During the summer of 2007, Eric Onesi and Stan Guerrero competed in the prestigious USGA Amateur Championships in San Francisco.

In 2003, ODU captured their first ever CAA championship with a sudden death playoff win over UNC Wilmington. That earned the Monarchs their their first ever NCAA team tournament appearance. The Monarchs tied for 15th at the West Regionals. Geoffrey Harris was named CAA Player of the Year for the second straight time and also earned All-Region honors. Harris was also one of five finalists for the prestigious Byron Nelson Award.

Rudisill earned CAA Coach of the Year honors in 2007, 2003, 2000 and 1999 along with Coach of the Year honors in the Sun Belt in 1984 and 1989. He was selected Virginia College Coach of the Year by the Portsmouth Sports Club in 1988, and his fellow coaches in the State of Virginia have selected him Coach of the Year in the state in 1988, 2000, 2003 and 2004, and 2007.

Rudisill has served on the board of Directors for the Virginia State Golf Association, and is serving his fourth, five-year term as chairman of the Virginia State Golf Coaches Association. Additionally, he has served as chairman for the selection committee for the NCAA Golf District III. Rudisill is a member of the board of trustees of College Golf Fellowship.

Two of Rudisill's former golfers, Jim McGovern and Joe Daley qualified for the PGA tour in 1998. In 1991, Jon Hurst became the first Monarch to qualify at the NCAA Division I Championships in Monterey, CA., and earned All-American honors. Hurst along with Alan Schulte, a two-time Sun Belt Conference champion, are both in The ODU Sports Hall of Fame.

Rudisill has coached back-to-back CAA Rookie's of the Year in Michael Hospodar in 1999 and Geoffrey Harris in 2000. The 1999 Monarch squad ranked first in the nation in par three scoring at 3.11. The 2000 squad lost the CAA Championships by one stroke and ranked in the top ten in the district and the nation's top 50.

In 2002, Geoffrey Harris ranked as high as second nationally with a stroke average at 70.0 after the fall season, and later competed in the prestigious Palmer Cup for native Great Britain against team USA.

Strengthening his reputation as an excellent golfer with top performances in regional and amateur events, Rudisill has teamed with Old Dominion Hall of Fame golfer J.P.Leigh to win over 50 tournaments in the area.

A native of Gastonia, NC, Rudisill is a 1960 graduate of North Carolina State University where he was a member of the golf team. Rudisill earned his masters degree from the University of North Carolina and moved to Hampton Roads and the Tidewater Community College System in 1968. He was awarded a doctorate in Curriculum/Instruction from the University of Florida in 1972 and joined the Old Dominion faculty that same year. He retired from teaching in May of 2004.


1984 Sun Belt

1988 The State of Virginia

1989 Sun Belt

1999 CAA

2000 CAA & State of Virginia

2003 CAA & State of Virginia

2004 State of Virginia

2007 CAA & State of Virginia

TEAM AND CONFERENCE TITLES 1984 Virginia State Champions 1986 Virginia State Champions 1992 Virginia State Champions 1993 Virginia State Champions 2003 CAA Champions & T15th at NCAA West Regionals. 2007 CAA Champions & 22nd at NCAA East Regionals.