Sooners Shut Out Beavers, Claim 40th Win

Athletics Communications
By Athletics Communications
University of Oklahoma
RV/RVOregon State
Oregon State

CORVALLIS, Ore. – No. 2/2 Oklahoma softball earned its 19th shutout win on Friday afternoon, taking down Oregon State 4-0 at OSU Softball Complex. 

With the win, the Sooners moved to 40-3 on the season, matching the 2013 team as the fastest to reach 40 wins in program history.

Paige Parker and Paige Lowary combined on the shutout. Parker tossed the first 4.1 frames, allowing three hits and no runs while fanning four. Lowary earned the win to move to 4-1 on the season, pitching the final 2.2 frames with no runs on two hits and two strikeouts. 

Sydney Romero registered multiple hits for the 21st time this season, finishing the day 2-for-4 with a run scored. Jocelyn Alo had her 18th multi-RBI game of the year against the Beavers, driving in two runs with a seventh-inning homer. 

The Sooners opened scoring in the top of the sixth. With the bases loaded, Kelsey Arnold singled up the middle to drive in Nicole Pendley from third.

OU added three runs in the seventh inning. Alo hit her 20th home run of the season, a two-run shot to right field that extended the Sooner lead to 3-0.

With Sooners on first and second, Eliyah Flores singled to advance the baserunners. An error from the first baseman gave Caleigh Clifton space to run home from third.

The Sooners are set for a rematch with the Beavers on Saturday at 2 p.m. CT. It will be broadcast through the Pac-12 Networks and can be heard on KEBC 1560 AM or online via the Franchise 2.