Distinguished Alumni

Maryland Athletics
Print RSS

Parney Albright ’82 M.S., ’85 Ph.D. Physics: Director, Lawrence Livermore Laboratory

Stephen Ayers ’85 Architecture: Architect of the Capitol

Sade Baderinwa ‘93 Agriculture: Co Anchor, ABC 7 New York

Robert Basham ‘70 Bus. Administration: Co-founder, Outback Steakhouse

Joy Bauer ’86 Kinesiological Sciences: Today Show nutrition expert

Gail Berman ’78 Theater: Producer, 24, House, American Idol

Carl Bernstein ‘65 Arts & Sciences: Author, Watergate reporter

Eric Billings ‘77 Finance & Economics: CEO, Arlington Asset Investment Corp.

Tim Brant ‘73 Journalism: VP, Sportscaster WJLA-7, ABC, ACC Network

Sergey Brin ’93 Computer Science & Mathematics: Co-founder, Google

Robert Briskman ‘61 M.S.E.E.: Co-founder, Sirius Satellite Radio

Kenneth Brody ‘64 Electrical Eng.: Former chairman, U.S. Export-Import Bank

Vicky Bullett ‘90 General Studies: U.S. Olympian, Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame

Mark Burdett ‘81 Undergraduate Studies: President, WUSA- 9

Dennis Cardoza ‘82 Gov./Politics: Congressman, California 18th District

Al Carey ‘78 Urban Studies: CEO, PepsiCo Americas Beverages

Connie Chung ‘69 Journalism: Emmy-winning Correspondent & Scholarship Co-Chair

Mark Ciardi ‘83 Marketing: Producer, “The Rookie” “Miracle” “Secretariat”

James Clapper ’63 Government & Politics: Director of National Intelligence

A. James Clark ‘50 Civil Engineering: President, Clark Enterprises

Michael Dana ‘81 Marketing: CEO, Onex Real Estate Partners

Cindy Davis ’87 M.B.A.: President, NIKE Golf

Dominique Dawes ‘02 Speech: U.S. Olympian

Len Elmore ‘78 English: ESPN Commentator

Boomer Esiason ‘84 Undergraduate Studies: Sportscaster and radio talk show host, former NFL player

Raul Fernandez ‘90 Economics: Chairman, ObjectVideo

Carly Fiorina ‘80 M.B.A.: Pioneering Woman CEO

Robert Fischell ‘53 M.S. Physics: Chairman, Fischell Biomedical, LLC

Jon Franklin ‘70 Journalism: Two-time Pulitzer Prize winner

Eddie Frederick ’03 Math & Computer Science: Co-Founder, LivingSocial

Fred Funk ‘80 Criminology: Pro golfer

Tom Gallagher ‘70 Marketing: Chairman President & CEO, Genuine Parts Co.

Joseph Gildenhorn ‘51 Bus. Administration: Partner, The JBG Companies; retired US Ambassador

Barry Gossett, Engineering: CEO, Action Mobile Industries

Marc Greenberg ’93 Accounting: VP, Finance & Strategy, Pixar Animation Studios

Roger Hale ‘65 History: Board of Directors, Ashland Oil

Herbert Hauptmann ‘55 Math: Nobel Prize winner, physics

Jane Henson ‘55 Art Education: Creator, The Muppets

Chick Hernandez ’87 Radio/TV/Film: Anchor/Reporter Comcast SportsNet

Danette Howard ’07 Ph.D. Education Policy: State Secretary of Higher Education

Steny Hoyer ‘63 Political Science: House Minority Whip, Congressman, Maryland‘s 5th district

Harry Hughes ‘49 Bus. Administration: Former governor of Maryland

Hugh Newell Jacobsen ‘51 Fine Arts: World famous architect; designed Riggs Alumni Center

Stan Jones ‘56 Education: NFL Hall of Fame inductee, ‘91

Jeong Kim, ‘91 Ph.D. Engineering: President, Bell Labs

Gayle King, ‘76 Psychology: Co-anchor, CBS This Morning

Jeffrey Kluger ‘76 Govt./Politics: Author, Apollo 13

Chris Kubasik ‘83 Accounting: President & CEO, Lockheed Martin

Tim Kurkjian ‘78 Journalism: Reporter, ESPN & ESPN Magazine

Mary Lacey ’78 Mechanical Engineering: Deputy Director, Aegis Ballistic Missile Defense System

Debbie Lawrence ‘78 Textiles: Vice-President, The Williams Companies

John Lauer ‘63 Chemical Eng.: Non-Executive Chairman, Diebold, Inc.

George Laurer ‘51 Electrical Eng.: Inventor, Universal Price Code

King Leatherbury ’56 Bus. Administration: All-Time Great Thoroughbred Trainer

Liz Lerman ‘70 Dance: MacArthur Award Winner; Dance Co. Owner

Marvin Mandel ‘39 Arts/Law: Former governor of Maryland

William Mayer ‘66 Bus. Administration, ’67 MBA: Chair, Park Ave. Equity Partners

Rob McGovern ’83 Marketing: Founder,

Tom McMillen ‘74 Chemistry: CEO, Homeland Security Corp.

Mike Miller ‘64 Economics: President, Maryland Senate

Bob Mitchell ‘59 Civil Engineering: CEO, Mitchell & Best Homebuilders

Paul Mullan ‘68 Marketing, ‘70, MBA: Strategic Partner, Charterhouse Group International

Renaldo Nehemiah ‘81 Radio/TV/Film: U.S. Track & Field Hall of Fame inductee, 1997

Lorrie Norrington ’81 Finance & Marketing: Board of Directors, DIRECTV

Tom Norris ‘67 Sociology: Congressional Medal of Honor Winner

Robert Parker ‘70 History: World famous wine critic; publisher Wine Advocate

Buno Pati ‘86 Electrical Engineering:  High-Tech Entrepreneur & Scholarship Co-Chair

George Pelecanos ‘80 Radio/TV/Film: Novelist

Giuliana Rancic ’96 Journalism: Anchor, E! News

Judith Resnick ‘77 Electrical Engineering: Second woman in space; died in ‘86 Challenger explosion

Jimmy Roberts ‘79 Radio/TV/Film: Reporter, NBC

Lisa Robinson ’86 Journalism: Anchor, WBAL-TV NBC 11 Baltimore

Dutch Ruppersberger ‘67 Pre-Law: Congressman, Maryland’s Second District

Harvey Sanders ‘72 Journalism: Founder, Nautica Enterprises

Bernice Sandler ’69 Ph.D. Education: Title IX Pioneer

Dave Saunders ’81 Business Administration: CEO, K2 Advisors LLC

Ben Scotti ‘59 Arts & Sciences: Original syndicator, Baywatch series

Tony Scotti ‘61 Arts & Sciences: Original syndicator, Baywatch series

David Simon ‘83 Undergraduate Studies: Created TV series Homicide & The Wire

Harry Smith ‘49 Electrical Engineering: Inventor, pulse doppler radar

Robert H. Smith ‘50 Accounting: Developer of Crystal City complex

Ed Snider ‘55 Accounting: Chairman, Comcast Spectacor

Jesus Tambunting ’60 Economics: CEO, Planters Development Bank, Philippines

Mark Turner ‘78 Urban Studies: President, Steak Escape restaurant chain

Joe Tydings ‘51 Arts-Law: Attorney; Former Maryland U.S. Senator

Leo Van Munching ‘50 Marketing/Bus. Administration: Headed one of America‘s top import companies

Jim Walton ‘81 Radio/TV/Film: President, CNN Worldwide

Michael Ward, ‘72 Marketing: Chairman, President & CEO, CSX

Pam Ward ‘84 Radio/TV/Film: Reporter, ESPN

Howard White ’73 Recreation: V-P, Sports Marketing, Jordan Brand, NIKE

Randy White ‘74 P.E.: NFL Hall of Fame inductee, ‘94

Dianne Wiest ’69 Arts & Sciences: Two-time Academy Award winner

Gary Williams ‘68 Marketing: Legendary former Terps basketball coach

Scott Wine ’95 M.B.A.: CEO, Polaris Industries

Morgan Wooten ‘56 Phys Ed.: U.S. Basketball Hall of Fame

Eun Yang ’95 Journalism: Anchor, WRC NBC 4 Washington