Default Header

2018 NABC-NAIA Fan Vote Dunker Announced

Joseph Williams - Xavier (La.)

Story by Chad Waller, NAIA Director of Athletic Communications and Media

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – (Purchase Tickets) (Tournament Schedule) The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the fan-vote slam-dunk winner for the 2018 NABC-NAIA Shoot & Slam, presented by U.S. Bank. Joseph Williams of Xavier (La.) will participate in the contest as he earned the most fan votes with 2,341. As a part of the Slam Dunk Contest on March 17, fans had the opportunity to vote in one player using a fan vote pushed out on social media.

Williams joins the other three dunkers – selected by the NABC-NAIA Men’s Basketball Shoot & Slam Committee – Arsenio Arrington of Aquinas (Mich.), Titus Rice of Ottawa (Kan.) and DeShun Patterson of Tabor (Kan.). Fan voting closed on Monday, Feb. 26 at 3 p.m. CST and occurred on the @NAIA Twitter and @PlayNAIA Facebook accounts.

The 3-point and dunk festivities take place March 17 at 4 p.m. CDT and are in conjunction with the 81st Annual NAIA Division I Men's Basketball National Championship at Municipal Auditorium in downtown Kansas City, Mo. All NAIA Division I and Division II men’s basketball players with senior eligibility status were eligible to be nominated for the contests. Contestants were selected by the NABC-NAIA Men's Basketball Shoot & Slam Committee, which is comprised of head coaches from both the Division I and Division II ranks. Criteria taken into account were season statistics, awards and off-the-court accomplishments.

All four dunkers will be judged on two dunks in the first round. Each dunker must complete one dunk within a two-minute span. The two dunkers with the highest composite score advance to the final round. The format is the same in the final round. The dunker with the highest final round score will be the winner. A panel of judges will score the dunks from 8-to-10 points, resulting in a maximum score of 50 and a minimum score of 40 per dunk.

For tickets to Saturday’s activities – which will cover the Shoot & Slam and all four quarterfinal games – go to

To learn more about the 2018 NABC-NAIA Shoot & Slam, presented by U.S. Bank, click here. For history and records, click here.

List of Dunkers in order of fan votes:
1. Joseph Williams, Xavier (La.) – 2,341 votes *
2.  Tyler Bell, Jarvis Christian (Texas) – 398 votes
3.  Marcus White, Dickinson State (N.D.) – 195 votes
*Fan-Vote Winner

Dunk Contestants (listed by school)
Name School
Arsenio Arrington Aquinas (Mich.)
Titus Rice Ottawa (Kan.)
DeShun Patterson Tabor (Kan.)
Joseph Williams (fan vote) Xavier (La.)

Schedule -- Saturday, March 17 (All Times CDT)

Noon -- Quarterfinal Game No. 1
2 p.m. -- Quarterfinal Game No. 2
4 p.m. -- NABC-NAIA Shoot & Slam, presented by U.S. Bank
5:30 p.m. -- Quarterfinal Game No. 3
7:30 p.m. -- Quarterfinal Game No. 4 

Previous Champions:

  • 2017
    • DUNK: Henry French, Trinity International (Ill.) | WATCH DUNKS
    • 3-POINT: Zach Taylor, Carroll (Mont.)
  • 2016
    • DUNK: Richard McCalop, Science & Arts (Okla.) | WATCH DUNKS
    • 3-POINT: Trae Bergh, Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.)
  • 2015
    • DUNK: Jamaal Thomas, Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) |WATCH DUNKS
    • 3-POINT: Marcus Hurn, Great Falls (Mont.)
  • 2014
    • DUNK: Tyler Inman, Southwestern Christian (Okla.) |WATCH DUNKS
    • 3-POINT: Travis Schuba, Madonna (Mich.)

Championship Information

NAIA DI Men's Basketball Championship