Men's Golf

Fixari, Samborsky Recognized by Horizon League
Release: Tuesday 04/26/2012 
by WSU Athletic Media Relations

Two members of the Wright State golf team were recognized by the Horizon League as the postseason awards were announced Thursday evening.  Junior Cody Fixari was selected All-League while Pete Samborsky was named the Coach of the Year.

Fixari (Pickerington, OH/North) led the Raiders in six of nine tournaments in 2011-12 as he posted a 73.4 average over 25 rounds.  He tied for eighth at both the Double Tree Intercollegiate and at the C&F Bank Intercollegiate, tied for 10th at the NYX Hoosier Invitational and tied for 11th at last week's Earl Yestingsmeier Invitational.

Fixari shot three rounds of 68 during the year and had eight rounds of 72 or better, shooting 75 or higher only six times.

Samborsky, in his third season at the helm of the Raiders, has directed WSU to three top-half finishes in 2011-12 after the squad was runner-up at last year's Horizon League Championship.  Wright State finished third at the UK Bluegrass Fall Invitational, sixth at the Double Tree Intercollegiate and C&F Bank Intercollegiate and seventh at the NYX Hoosier Invitational.

The Horizon League Golf Championship begins on Friday at Mission Inn Resort in Howey-in-the-Hills, Florida and continues through Sunday, with the winner receiving an automatic to the NCAA Regionals in May.

The following are the Horizon League postseason awards:


All-Horizon League

Andrew Wegeng, Jr., Butler

Andrew Bailey, So., Cleveland State

Michael Klaric, Jr., Cleveland State

Lucas Kim, Fr., Detroit

Simon Reyers, Jr., Detroit

Chad Ebert, Jr., Green Bay

Alex Cusumano, So., Loyola

Cody Fixari, Jr., Wright State


Player of the Year: Andrew Bailey, So., Cleveland State

Newcomer of the Year: Lucas Kim, Fr., Detroit

Coach of the Year: Pete Samborsky, Wright State

MORE Men's Golf

Program Pride
Stats             Photo Galleries
History             Alumni Form

Email Updates

presented by
On-demand Audio and Video
Join Now