Article Image
North Dakota State University placed three players on the 2012 College Sporting News FCS 2012 Preseason All-America Teams. Cornerback Marcus Williams was named to the first team, safety Colten Heagle (shown above) landed a spot on the second team and offensive tackle Billy Turner was a third team pick.
View larger
Courtesy: Bob Nelson
Send this article to a friend

Three Bison Named to 2012 College Sporting News FCS Preseason All-America Team

Courtesy: NDSU Athletic Media Relations
Release: July 30, 2012

North Dakota State University placed three players on the 2012 College Sporting News FCS 2012 Preseason All-America Teams. Cornerback Marcus Williams was named to the first team, safety Colten Heagle landed a spot on the second team and offensive tackle Billy Turner was a third team pick.

Named to The Sports Network's 2012 Buck Buchanan Watch List, Williams, a 5-foot-11, 195-pound junior from Minneapolis, Minn. (Hopkins H.S.), has started in all 29 games played during his career and has at least one pass defended in 24 of those contests. He has 11 career interceptions.

A first-team Sports Network/ and Associated Press performer in 2011, Williams picked off seven passes and returned two for TDs. He scored four times overall, on a lateral and a kickoff. Williams led the MVFC and ranked 6th in the NCAA FCS in interceptions.

Heagle, a 5-foot-11, 200-pound junior from Appleton, Wis. (Kimberly H.S.), has started in 18 of 25 games played during his career. Despite missing three games with any injury, he was third on he team with 82 tackles including 50 solos. Heagle recorded his first two collegiate interceptions and added a pair of pass breakups.

A first-team All-MVFC selection last season, Heagle has five career double-figure tackle games including a career best 15 stops in the NCAA FCS semifinal win over Georgia Southern.

Turner, a 6- foot-5 1/2, 300 pound junior from Shoreview, Minn. (Mounds View H.S.), is a two-year starter for the Bison with 26 of 27 games played. The Bison won the 2011 NCAA Division I FCS National Championship and the Missouri Valley Football Conference. In 2010, the Bison advanced to the NCAA Division I FCS quarterfinals.

Turner was part of an offensive line that paved the way for a pair of 1,000-yard running backs for NDSU during the 2011 season. It is the first time in program history that the Bison have had two 1,000-yard rushers in the same season.

North Dakota State won the program’s first NCAA Division I Football Championship with a 17-6 win over Sam Houston State on Jan. 7 and also claimed the program's first Missouri Valley Football Conference title. The Bison were 14-1 overall and 7-1 in MVFC.

The Bison open the 2012 season against Robert Morris at 6 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 1, at Gate City Bank Field at the Fargodome.

One hundred of the NCAA Division I Football Championship Subdivision (FCS) were honored with inclusion on the 2012 FCS Preseason All-America Teams by College Sporting News. The FCS is the highest level of NCAA championship football. Founded in 2001, College Sporting News is the largest and oldest news service solely devoted to publishing original content and other information of the FCS.

College Sporting News FCS 2012 Preseason All-America Teams

QB DeNarius McGhee, Montana State, Jr
RB Shakir Bell, Indiana State, Jr
RB Timothy Flanders, Sam Houston State, Jr
FB Eric Breitenstein, Wofford, Sr
AP Jordan Brown, Bryant, Sr
OT Aaron Adams, Eastern Kentucky, Sr
OT Evan Conrad, SE Missouri State, Sr
OG Malcolm Boyd, Liberty, Sr
OG Zach Brackus, Southern Utah, Sr
OC Mike Sellers, The Citadel, Jr
TE Colin Anderson, Furman, Sr
WR Aaron Mellette, Elon, Sr
WR Nicholas Edwards, Eastern Washington, Sr
WR Rodrick Rumble, Idaho State, Sr

DE Ben Obaseki, Indiana State, Sr
DE Blake Oliaro, San Diego, Jr
DT J.T. Cleveland, Sam Houston State, Sr
DT Brent Russell, Georgia Southern, Sr
DL Willie Jefferson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr
LB Matt Evans, New Hampshire, Sr
LB Jeremy Kimbrough, Appalachian State, Sr
LB Keith Pough, Howard, Sr
LB Mike Niam, Wofford, Sr
CB Marcus Williams, North Dakota State, Jr

CB Demetrius McCray, Appalachian State, Sr
SS Darnell Taylor, Sam Houston State, Sr
FS Kejuan Riley, Alabama State, Sr
DB Charles James, Charleston Southern, Sr

KR Kevin Fogg, Liberty, Sr
PR Darius Drummond, South Carolina State, Jr
K Zach Brown, Portland State, Sr
P Jonathan Plisco, Old Dominion, Sr
LS Richard Wright, Liberty, Jr

QB Brad Sorensen, Southern Utah, Sr
RB Terrance West, Towson, So
RB Matt Denham, Eastern Kentucky, Sr
FB Kendall Gaskins, Richmond, Sr
AP Gralyn Crawford, Stephen F. Austin, Sr
OT Blake Matthews, Norfolk State, Sr
OT Patrick Ford, Eastern Kentucky, Sr
OG Earl Watford, James Madison, Sr
OG Danny Kistler, Montana, Jr
OC Gavin Farr, Southern Utah, Jr
TE Justin Perillo, Maine, Jr
WR Richard Sincere, Sam Houston State, Jr
WR Ryan Spadola, Lehigh, Sr
WR Norman White, Villanova, Sr

DE Frank Beltre, Towson , Sr
DE Joseph LeBeau, Jackson State, Sr
DT Zach Minter, Montana State, Sr
DT Cody Larsen, Southern Utah, Sr
DL Marquis Jackson, Portland State, Sr
LB Blake Peiffer, SE Missouri State, Jr
LB Aaron Archie, Indiana State, Sr
LB Wes Dothard, Chattanooga, Jr
LB Jody Owens, Montana State, Sr
CB Daxton Swanson, Sam Houston State , Jr
CB B.W. Webb, William & Mary, Sr
SS Colten Heagle, North Dakota State, Jr
FS Malcolm Bronson, McNeese State, Sr
DB Serge Kona, Duquesne, Sr

KR Fabian Truss, Samford, Jr
PR Terrence Lewis, Alcorn State, Sr
K Tyler Sievertsen, Northern Iowa, Jr
P Patrick Murray, Fordham, Sr
LS Mike Chocholousek, Charleston Southern, Sr

QB Kurt Hess, Youngstown State, Jr
RB Jamaine Cook, Youngstown State, Sr
RB Andrew Pierce, Delaware, Jr
FB Brian Barlow, James Madison, Sr
AP Zach Bauman, Northern Arizona, Jr
OT Billy Turner, North Dakota State, Jr
OT Kadeem Williams, Albany, Jr
OG Chris Howley, Maine, Sr
OG Ricky Archer, New Hampshire, Jr
OC FN Lutz, Indiana State, Sr
TE Kyle Juszczyk, Harvard, Sr
WR Cordell Roberson, Stephen F. Austin, Sr
WR Tyrone Walker, Illinois State, Sr
WR Lanny Funsten, Davidson, Sr

DE Joshua Williams, Chattanooga, Sr
DE Tyler Starr, South Dakota, Jr
DT Chris Burnette, Old Dominion, Sr
DT Caraun Reid, Princeton, Sr
DL Marcus Edwards, Tennessee Tech, Sr
LB Evan Fierson, Illinois State, Sr
LB Stephon Robertons, James Madison, Jr
LB Alvin Scioneaux, Wofford, Jr
LB Jawara Dudley, Stony Brook, Jr
CB Varmah Sonie, Northern Iowa, Sr
CB Jeremy Moore, Georgetown , Sr
SS Jestin Love, Central Arkansas, Jr
FS Jordan Dangerfield, Towson, Sr
DB Justin Bell, Eastern Kentucky, Sr

KR Jordan Wells, SE Louisiana, So
PR Darius Carey, McNeese State, Sr
K Kevin Robb, South Dakota, Jr
P Cass Couey, The Citadel, Sr
LS John Hubbard, Northern Iowa, Sr

Stay Connected EmailRSSTwitterFacebookYouTube
NDSU Bookstore
Building The Competitive Edge
©2016 - North Dakota State University.    All rights reserved.