Article Image
Steeplechasers Maddie McClellan (left) and Amy Jo Thorne were two of NDSU's three USTFCCCA academic honorees.
View larger
Courtesy: Richard Svaleson
Send this article to a friend

Four Bison Women Named to USTFCCCA Division I All-Academic Team

Courtesy: NDSU Athletic Media Relations
Release: July 25, 2012

NEW ORLEANS - Four North Dakota State women's track and field athletes were named to the United States Track and Field and Cross Country Coaches Association's Division I All-Academic Team for the 2012 season.

Sophomore Maddie McClellan and seniors Brittany Schanandore, Amy Jo Thorne and Leslie Brost each completed the year with at least a 3.25 cumulative grade-point average.

Nominees must be ranked in the top 96 of an individual event indoors, top 48 of an indoor relay event, or have participated in any rounds of the NCAA championships.

McClellan, an English education major from Perham, Minn., qualified for the NCAA West Preliminary Round outdoors in the 3,000-meter steeplechase with a time of 10 minutes, 19.39 seconds.

Schanandore, a child development and family science major from Perham, Minn., ranked 45th nationally indoors in the 800-meter run with a time of 2 minutes, 7.55 seconds and qualified for the NCAA outdoor prelims in the 800 meters with a time of 2:07.17.

Thorne, a marketing and management major from Brookings, S.D., qualified for the NCAA outdoor prelims in the 3,000-meter steeplechase with a time of 10 minutes, 28.48 seconds.

Brost, an exercise science major from Watertown, S.D., ranked 10th in the nation indoors with a mark of 13 feet, 11 3/4 inches at the Iowa State Qualifier.  She went on to place fourth at the NCAA championships with a height of 14-3 1/4.

A total of 677 student-athletes representing 171 Division I programs nationwide were selected for the awards.

Stay Connected EmailRSSTwitterFacebookYouTube
NDSU Bookstore
Building The Competitive Edge
©2017 - North Dakota State University.    All rights reserved.