Article Image
Courtesy: Charlotte Sports Information
View Photo
Volleyball Wins AVCA Team Academic Award Again in 2015-16

LEXINGTON, Ky. - The American Volleyball Coaches Association (AVCA) announced today that 762 teams have earned the AVCA Team Academic Award for the 2015-2016 season. This number breaks the previous year's total of 757 to set an all-time high. Charlotte volleyball, on the list again, was one of 20 (of the 131 teams named) to also reach their Dig Pink fundraising goal.

The award, which was initiated in the 1992-93 academic year, honors collegiate and high school volleyball teams that displayed excellence in the classroom during the school year by maintaining at least a 3.30 cumulative team grade-point average on a 4.0 scale or a 4.10 cumulative team GPA on a 5.0 scale.

The AVCA Team Academic Award is the single largest award offered by quantity of schools, players and coaches honored. Since the 2000-2001 season, the number of recipients have increased every single year but two, while amassing a 475 team increase over the span of the last decade. Since the award's inception in 1993, the amount of award winners has increased from 62 to its current number of 762.

Prior to 2015-2016, only 26 teams had attained the pinnacle of volleyball success in both earning the AVCA Team Academic Award and winning their respective collegiate national championship in the same academic year. This year, the AVCA is proud to recognize three programs that excelled in the classroom and on the court: Wheeling Jesuit University (NCAA Division II), California Lutheran University (NCAA Division III) and Columbia College (NAIA).

Over 1,000 different schools have earned the award in the program's 24-year history, with exactly 7,640 awards been given out in total.


Division                               Number of recipients
NCAA Division I Women                     131
NCAA Division II Women                    119
NCAA Division III Women                   140
NAIA Women                                        54
Two-Year College                                 16
NCCAA                                                   3
Collegiate Men                                      11
High School Girls                                 260 (1 sand)
High School Boys                                  22
College Beach                                         6

*Teams bolded denote teams that reached their Dig Pink fundraising goal.

NCAA Division I Women

Abilene Christian University
American University
Appalachian State University
Arizona State University
Arkansas State University
Austin Peay State University
Baylor University
Belmont University
Bethune-Cookman University
Binghamton University
Bowling Green State University
Brown University
Bryant University
Central Connecticut State Univ
Charleston Southern University
Coastal Carolina University
College of Charleston
Columbia University
Creighton University
Davidson College
DePaul University
Drake University
Duke University
East Tennessee State University
Eastern Kentucky University
Eastern Michigan University
Eastern Washington University
Elon University
Fairleigh Dickinson University - Teaneck
Florida State University
Fresno State University
Gardner-Webb University
George Washington University
Georgia Southern University
Grand Canyon University
Harvard University
Hofstra University
Houston Baptist University
Idaho State University
Illinois State University
Indiana State University
Indiana University-Purdue University, Fort Wayne
Indiana-Purdue at Indianapolis
Jacksonville State University
Jacksonville University
Kansas State University
Kent State University
La Salle University
Lehigh University
Liberty University
Lipscomb University
Long Island University-Brooklyn
Loyola University-Chicago
Manhattan College
Marist College
Marshall University
Miami University (OH)
Missouri State University
Morehead State University
Murray State University
New Jersey Institute of Technology
North Carolina State University
North Dakota State University
Northeastern University
Northern Illinois University
Northern Kentucky University
Oakland University
Ohio University
Oral Roberts University
Oregon State University
Providence College
Radford University
Rice University
Rider University
Sam Houston State University
Seton Hall University
South Dakota State University
Southeast Missouri State University
Southern Illinois University
Southern Illinois University Edwardsville
St. John's University
Stanford University
Stony Brook University
Temple University
University of Akron
University of Alabama
University of Arkansas-Little Rock
University of California - Santa Barbara
University of Central Florida
University of Cincinnati
University of Evansville
University of Hartford
University of Idaho
University of Illinois
University of Kentucky
University of Louisville
University of Maryland-Eastern Shore
University of Memphis
University of Missouri
University of Nebraska
University of Nebraska-Omaha
University of Nevada-Las Vegas
University of New Hampshire
University of New Mexico
Univeristy of North Carolina - Charlotte
University of North Carolina - Greensboro
University of North Florida
University of North Texas
University of Northern Colorado
University of Northern Iowa
University of Pennsylvania
University of South Carolina
University of South Dakota
University of Southern Mississippi
University of Tennessee-Chattanooga
University of Texas-San Antonio
University of Toledo
University of Utah
University of Wisconsin-Green Bay
University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
University of Wyoming
Utah State University
Valparaiso University
Villanova University
Virginia Tech
Western Carolina University
Western Kentucky University
Wichita State University
Wofford College
Wright State University
Yale University
Youngstown State University