Article Image
Courtesy: Charlotte Sports Information
View Photo
Ogunjobi; Phillips Named Preseason all-Conference USA

Charlotte 49ers red-shirt senior nose tackle Larry Ogunjobi (Greensboro, N.C./Ragsdale H.S.) and senior running back Kalif Phillips (Kannapolis, N.C./AL Brown H.S.) have both been named 2016 Preseason all-Conference USA, as chosen by the league’s 13 head coaches.

               Both Ogunjobi and Phillips earned second team all-Conference USA honors, last year.

               Ogunjobi, who has been named to the Watch Lists for the 2016 Bednarik Award (College Defensive Player of the Year) and the Outland Trophy (Most Outstanding Interior Lineman), tied for second in Conference USA with a school-record 14.5 tackles for loss last season.  He ranks eighth among active FBS players in career tackles for loss (35.3; 1.04/gm). He is the 49ers career leader in tackles (152), TFL (35.5), sacks (10.0) and QB hurries (23).  He had a career-high 62 tackles, last year, Charlotte’s first at the FBS level as a member of Conference USA, with double-digit tackles against C-USA foes Florida Atlantic (11) and UTSA (10).  He set the 49ers single-game record with 4.5 TFL vs. UTSA.

               Phillips was fifth in Conference USA, last year, with an 87.4 rushing average.  With 961 rushing yards, he fell short of his second straight 1,000-yard season after injury limited his playing time to just four carries over the last three games.  He had three 100-yard rushing games, including a school-record 204 yards at Old Dominion.  He also rushed for 159 yards at Florida Atlantic and 125 vs. Temple.  He scored five touchdowns to improve his school-record career total to 38.  He ranks 16th among active FBS players with a school-record 3,113 career rushing yards and 20th with a 94.3 career rushing average.

               Season tickets for the Charlotte 49ers 2016 season are currently available at or by calling 704-687-4949.



Offensive Player of the Year
Nick Mullens, Sr., QB, Southern Miss

Defensive Player of the Year
Trey Hendrickson, Sr., DE, Florida Atlantic

Special Teams Player of the Year
Jonathan Barnes, Jr., K, Louisiana Tech
Dalton Schomp, Sr., P, Florida Atlantic

K Jonathan Barnes, Jr., Louisiana Tech
P Dalton Schomp, Sr., Florida Atlantic
KR Kylen Towner, Jr., WKU
PR Warren Redix, So., UTEP
LS Darrell Travis, Sr., Louisiana Tech

QB Brent Stockstill, So., Middle Tennessee
QB Nick Mullens, Sr., Southern Miss
RB Kalif Phillips, Sr., Charlotte
RB Ray Lawry, Jr., Old Dominion
RB Ito Smith, Jr., Southern Miss
RB Aaron Jones, Sr., UTEP
RB Jarveon Williams, Sr., UTSA
RB Anthony Wales, Sr., WKU
OL Michael Montero, Sr., FIU
OL Reggie Bain, Jr., Florida Atlantic
OL Darrell Brown, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL David Mahaffey, Sr., Louisiana Tech
OL Michael Selby, Sr., Marshall
OL Clint Van Horn, Sr., Marshall
OL Maurquice Shakir, Sr., Middle Tennessee
OL Cameron Tom, Sr., Southern Miss
OL Forrest Lamp, Sr., WKU
OL Will Hernandez, Jr., UTEP
TE Jonnu Smith, Sr., FIU
TE Ryan Yurachek, Jr., Marshall
WR Trent Taylor, Sr., Louisiana Tech
WR Richie James, So., Middle Tennessee
WR Zach Pascal, Sr., Old Dominion
WR Taywan Taylor, Sr., WKU

DL Larry Ogunjobi, Sr., Charlotte
DL Trey Hendrickson, Sr., Florida Atlantic
DL Jaylon Ferguson, So., Louisiana Tech
DL Gary Thompson, Sr., Marshall
DL Rashaad Coward, Sr., Old Dominion
DL Dylan Bradley, Sr., Southern Miss
DL Nick Usher, Sr., UTEP
DL Marcus Davenport, Jr., UTSA
LB Anthony Wint, Jr., FIU
LB Azeez Al-Shaair, So., Florida Atlantic
LB TJ Ricks, Sr., Old Dominion
LB Alex Lyons, Sr., Rice
LB D’Nerius Antoine, Sr., Southern Miss
LB Alvin Jones, Jr., UTEP
DB Ocie Rose, So., Florida Atlantic
DB Jalen Young, So., Florida Atlantic
DB Xavier Woods, Sr., Louisiana Tech
DB Jeremy Cutrer, Sr., Middle Tennessee
DB Kishawn McClain, Jr., North Texas
DB Justice Davila, Jr., Old Dominion
DB Picasso Nelson Jr., Jr., Southern Miss
DB Michael Egwuagu, Sr., UTSA