Hempstead, NY - Fifteen Hofstra Field Hockey student-athletes were cited for their excellence in the classroom by being named to the 2011 Gladiator by SGI/National Field Hockey Coaches Association (NFHCA) National Academic Squad, which was announced recently.

Hofstra, as a team, also received the 2011 Gladiator by SGI/NFHCA Division I National Academic Team Award. The Pride was one of 60 Division I teams that achieved a cumulative 3.0 or higher team grade point average. Hofstra was also one of just four teams that placed 15 student-athletes on the 2011 National Academic Squad.

Hofstra players named to the team, which recognizes student-athletes who have achieved a 3.30 grade point average or better during the fall semester of the 2010-11 academic year, were: fifth-year player Amy-Lee Levey; fourth year players Meredith Golden, Katelyn Lewia and Darrah Rachman; third-year players Jillian Geysen, Kerry Kiddoo, Krizia Layne, Meg Leusch, Melissa McCarthy, and Lauren Vallee; second-year player Katelyn Horan; and newcomers Jonel Boileau, Emily Caffrey, Katie Fischer and Marta Penas.

Levey has earned the award five times, Golden, Lewia and Rachman have won it four times, Geysen, Leusch and Vallee have earned it three times, Horan has won it twice and McCarthy, Boileau, Caffrey, Fischer and Penas are first-time winners.