SMC Gaels
Saint Mary'es College Athletics


The varsity-8 boat finished third overall at the WCC Championships on Saturday.
The varsity-8 boat finished third overall at the WCC Championships on Saturday.
ROW | Gaels Take Fourth in WCC Championships
Release: Friday 05/12/2012 
by SMC Athletics

GOLD RIVER, Calif. - The Saint Mary's women's rowing team finished fourth overall in the 15th West Coast Conference Championships at the Sacramento State Aquatics Center on Lake Natoma.  Sophomore Haley Adams was named to the All-West Coast Conference Team.

"It was a great effort today by the Gaels," said head coach Nicole Younts.  "We knew the racing would be tight and it was.  I am proud of this team and the great year we have had.  The field certainly has certainly become faster in the last few years and we know we needed to step up our efforts heading into this summer and next year."  Congrats to San Diego.

For the third straight year, San Diego captured the WCC Championships finishing with 39 team points.  The Gaels placed fourth overall with 24 points, just behind Loyola Marymount 26 and Gonzaga's 39 points.  The Toreros earned the tie-breaker with the Bulldogs by way of winning the varsity-8 race.  Portland - appearing in its first WCC championship - finished fifth with 22 points.  Creighton finished sixth (12) and Santa Clara was seventh (6).

All three races were tightly contested.  The Championship title came down to the last race of the day once again, and for the third straight year, San Diego pulled through for the victory, edging Gonzaga by a mere 1.9 seconds. 

The first race of the morning was the varsity-4 race, the Gaels placed fifth finishing with a time of 8:23.2, just behind LMU's time of 8:13.7 and Portland's 8:13.7.  San Diego finished second with a time of 8:04.6, Gonzaga took gold with a time of 7:45.8.  Creighton finished in sixth, clocking in at 8:43.3, behind them was the Broncos with a time of 8:58.7.

The lineup for the varsity-4 boat was: cox: Jessica Sin; Rachel Alvarez; Marianna Irby; Allsion McKenzie; Rebecca Beutler.

Up next was the second varsity-8 race, which was a tight battle for second between Gonzaga and San Diego.  The Bulldogs took first with a time of 6:52.9, the Toreros placed second with a time of 6:58.5, in third was Loyola Marymount who clocked in with a time of 7:16.6, Portland placed fourth overall with a time of 7:19.9.  The Gaels placed fifth overall with a time of 7:23.9, defeating Creighton (7:41.5) and Santa Clara (7:45.8) by a comfortable margin.

The lineup for the second varsity-8 boat was: cox: Bennett Collier; Brandynne Cho; Caitlin Evans; Kira Paulin; Katherine Wahl; Nicolette Pierantoni; Alexandria Iwaszewicz; Tessa Cunha; Nathalie Lambrecht.

The final race of the morning was the tightly contested varsity-8 race.  Saint Mary's finished third in the V8's just nine seconds shy of the winner San Diego.  The Toreros clocked in with a time of 6:47.2, the Bulldogs finished in second clocking in with a time of 6:49.7.  SMC finished just behind Gonzaga with an official time of 6:56.6.  Loyola Marymount finished fourth overall with a time of 6:59.7, in fifth was Portland who finished with a time of 7:04.8.  Creighton finished just ahead of Santa Clara, clocking in with a time of 7:17.1.  The Broncos finished the race with a time of 7:31.8

The varsity-8 lineup was:  cox: Chelsea Serrano; Haley Adams; Michelle Felmlee-Gartner; Dana Cook; Maryann Concannon; Deanna Estes; Stacey Boss; Christina Bennett; Savina Brown.

Today's race marked the final race for four seniors, Chelsea Serrano, Alexandria Iwaszewicz, Deanna Estes, and Savina Brown.  Brown rowed with the varsity-8 all four years for the Gaels, she and Estes were team captains this season.

Final Standings
San Diego, 39*
Gonzaga, 39
Loyola Marymount, 26
Saint Mary's, 24
Portland, 22
Creighton, 12
Santa Clara, 6
*San Diego wins tiebreaker by virtue of first place finish in Varsity Eight I.

I Four Race Official Results
1. Gonzaga, 7:45.8
2. San Diego, 8:04.6
3. Portland, 8:13.7
4. Loyola Marymount, 8:19.4
5. Saint Mary's, 8:23.2
6. Creighton, 8:43.3
7. Santa Clara, 8:58.7

II Eight Race Official Results
1. Gonzaga, 6:52.9
2. San Diego, 6:58.5
3. Loyola Marymount 7:16.6
4. Portland 7:19.9
5. Saint Mary's 7:23.9
6. Creighton 7:41.5
7. Santa Clara 7:45.8

I Eight Race Official Results
1. San Diego, 6:47.2

2. Gonzaga, 6:49.1

3. Saint Mary's 6:56.6

4. Loyola Marymount 6:59.7

5. Portland 7:04.8

6. Creighton 7:17.1

7. Santa Clara 7:31.8

2012 West Coast Conference Coach of the Year
Kim Cupini, San Diego

2012 West Coast Conference Co-Coxswains of the Year
Jordan Schroeder, Gonzaga
Kellyn Freire, Loyola Marymount

2012 West Coast Conference Newcomer of the Year
Naomi Medley, Gonzaga

2012 West Coast Conference Rower of the Year
Paula Welly, Gonzaga

2012 West Coast Conference All-Conference Team
Haley Adams, Saint Mary's
Shannon Craig, Loyola Marymount
Michelle Geesman, San Diego
Christine Koehler, Creighton
Hannah Patrick, San Diego
Elise Perkins, Gonzaga
Sarah Ryan, Portland
Gina Schneider, San Diego
Paula Welly, Gonzaga
Briana Wise, Santa Clara