Uploaded Ad
Article Image
View larger
Courtesy: hailstate.com

Bulldogs Tie Program Record For SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll Selections

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend
July 12, 2012

STARKVILLE, Miss. --- Mississippi State matched a program-best and tied for the league lead with seven baseball players included on the 2011-12 SEC First-Year Academic Honor Roll released Thursday by the Southeastern Conference.

The Mississippi State honorees include Matthew Britton (Cullman, Ala.), Phillip Casey (Sugar Land, Texas), Trevor Fitts (Helena, Ala.), Tyler Fullerton (Murfreesboro, Tenn.), Jonathan Holder (Gulfport, Miss.), Jacob Lindgren (Bay St. Louis, Miss.) and Brandon Woodruff (Wheeler, Miss.).

The academic all-conference listing for freshmen includes 47 student athletes representing 11 sports at Mississippi State. The honor roll, based on grades compiled during the 2011-12 academic year, features 608 athletes representing the men's and women's sports league-wide.

Mississippi State and South Carolina placed seven baseball players each on this year's academic honor squad for freshmen. MSU's 2006 team also featured seven honor roll selections.

Since the SEC first started honoring academic achievement by freshmen in 2002-03, 48 first-year Diamond Dogs have earned academic all-conference designation.

The SEC Academic Honor Roll announced last week included a league-best 19 baseball players from Mississippi State.

MORE Baseball

Mississippi State Baseball Camps
HailStateStore.com - Baseball Gear
Alfa Insurance
Farm Bureau Insurance
CSS Sports