Holder Named Baseball America Freshman All-American

Share on Fancred
Send this article to a friend Print RSS

Photo Courtesy of Bill Simmonds

STARKVILLE, Miss. --- Bulldog right-hander Jonathan Holder has picked up another freshman All-America team honor.

The Gulfport, Miss., native was named by Baseball America this week to the North Carolina-based publication's second-team rookie honor squad for the recently-concluded 2012 season.

Holder compiled a 2-1 record with nine saves and a remarkable 0.32 earned run average during this spring. The 2012 SEC All-Freshman team selection and first-team Collegiate Baseball/Louisville Slugger Freshman All-America Team pick appeared in 24 games, all in relief, allowing one earned run in 28-1/3 innings of mound work.

During an impressive late-season run, the former Gulfport High School standout notched seven saves and a win over his final 11 appearances. He earned all-tournament team honors in helping lead Mississippi State to the 2012 SEC Baseball Tournament championship and set the school record for consecutive scoreless innings pitched (27-1/3 innings). Holder's rookie season success is continuing this summer in the Cape Cod Baseball League. In five relief appearances (8-2/3 innings) pitching for the Wareham (Mass) Gatemen, he has posted a staff-best 3-0 record with a save, 13 strikeouts and one earned run allowed.

Holder is one of five Southeastern Conference players accorded first-team or second-team freshman all-America honors by Baseball America.


FIRST TEAM: C Riley Moore (Arizona), 1B Sam Travis (Indiana), 2B Pat Kelly (Nebraska), 3B Trea Turner (North Carolina State), SS Andrew Daniel (San Diego), OF Michael Conforto (Oregon State), OF Austin Cousino (Kentucky), OF Rhys Hoskins (Sacramento State), DH Derek Fisher (Virginia), SP Brandon Leibrandt (Florida State), P Preston Morrison (Texas Christian), SP Benton Moss (North Carolina), SP Carlos Rodon (North Carolina State), RP David Berg (UCLA), UT A.J. Reed (Kentucky)

SECOND TEAM: C Chase Griffin (Georgia Southern), 1B Kevin Cron (Texas Christian), 2B Casey Turgeon (Florida),  3B Jose Trevino (Oral Roberts), SS Cole Peragine (Stony Brook), OF Jake Fincher (North Carolina State), OF Steven Goldstein (Stony Brook), OF Ryan Padilla (New Mexico), DH Alex Blandino (Stanford), SP Mike Compton (Florida State), SP Jace Fry (Oregon State), SP Aaron Nola (LSU), SP Jake Reed (Oregon), RP Jonathan Holder (Mississippi State), UT Mason Robbins (Southern Mississippi)


Distance Ed- Earn Degree
Best Western Football 2015
Maroon Friday - William Wells Tire
Maroon Friday - Firehouse Subs
Maroon Friday - Stromboli's
Maroon Friday - Northeast Mississippi Exterminating
Jimmy Johns Maroon Friday
Maroon Friday - Brian Michael's
Copy Cow
Hungry Howies
Aspen Bay
Maroon Friday - Deep South Pout
Penn's Maroon Friday
MSU Athletics
Best Western
Dawg House
Farm Bureau
Gray Daniels
MSU Athletics
Prime Sport Travel Packages
Vivid Seats