Courtesy: Okotoks Oilers
Bernard-Docker was the Canadian Junior Hockey League’s (CJHL) top defenseman in 2017-18.
Bernard-Docker drafted in first round by Senators
Courtesy: Jayson Hajdu, UND Athletic Media Relations
Release: 06/22/2018
Print RSS

DALLAS, Texas – University of North Dakota incoming freshman defenseman Jacob Bernard-Docker was selected by the Ottawa Senators in the first round of the National Hockey League Entry Draft, 26th overall, on Friday night.

A native of Canmore, Alberta, Bernard-Docker had been ranked 33rd among North American skaters in NHL Central Scouting’s final 2018 draft rankings after being named the Canadian Junior Hockey League’s (CJHL) top defenseman. The 6-foot, 171-pound Bernard-Docker collected 20 goals and 21 assists in 49 games for the Okotoks Oilers and led all Alberta Junior Hockey League (AJHL) defenseman with seven power-play goals. He added another seven goals and seven assists in 15 playoff games.

In additional to national defenseman of the year honors, Bernard-Docker also received the AJHL’s W.G. (Bill) Scott Memorial Trophy as its most outstanding defenseman and was named to the AJHL South All-Star Team. He also participated in the 2017-18 CJHL Prospects Game in January.

Previous North Dakota players drafted by the Senators have included Toby Kvalevog (1993), Derrick Byfuglien (2000), Brandon Bochenski (2001), Brian Lee (2005), Ben Blood (2007) and Christian Wolanin (2015).

Bernard-Docker is the 20th North Dakota player to be selected in the first round of the NHL Entry Draft and the 15th since 2000. The draft continues on Saturday with rounds two through seven on NHL Network and Sportsnet beginning at 10 a.m. Central.

UND's First-Round NHL Draft Picks
1968: John Marks (D), Chicago, 9th
1981: James Patrick (D), New York Rangers, 9th
1986: George Pelawa (F), Calgary, 16th
1989: Jason Herter (D), Vancouver, 8th
1993: Landon Wilson (F), Toronto, 19th
2000: David Hale (D), New Jersey, 22nd
2003: Zach Parise (F), New Jersey, 17th
2004: Drew Stafford (F), Buffalo, 13th; Travis Zajac (F), New Jersey, 20th
2005: Brian Lee (D), Ottawa, 9th; T.J. Oshie (F), St. Louis, 24th; Joe Finley (D), Washington, 27th
2006: Jonathan Toews (F), Chicago, 3rd
2010: Derek Forbort (D), Los Angeles, 15th; Brock Nelson (F), New York Islanders, 30th
2012: Jordan Schmaltz (D), St. Louis Blues, 25th
2014: Nick Schmaltz (F), Chicago Blackhawks, 20th
2015: Brock Boeser (F), Vancouver Canucks, 23rd
2016: Tyson Jost (F), Colorado Avalanche, 10th   
2018: Jacob Bernard-Docker (D), Ottawa Senators, 26th

Uploaded Ad

Extras for the North Dakota fan

Partnership Opportunities
Mobile Apps