2015 Camps
Article Image
Princeton celebrates its 2011 varsity eight NCAA individual championship.
Courtesy: Sarah Finney

NCAA Championship History: Open Women

By: Princeton Athletic Communications
          Release: 07/19/2011
Print RSS

Princeton is one of three programs, along with Brown and Washington, to have competed at every NCAA Championship regatta since the inaugural event in 1997. Prior to 1997, women's crews competed at the National Collegiate Rowing Championship; Princeton won the national title in 1990, 1993, 1994 and 1995.

Unlike the EAWRC competition or the IRA national championships, the NCAA Championship is awarded to the program with the best combined score for their varsity eight, second varsity eight and varsity four. There is a weighted scoring system that can be found at the bottom of this page.

The varsity eight, second varsity and varsity four each compete for individual national championships, of which Princeton has won three. The Tiger second varsity won the first NCAA title in 1997, and the varsity eight won in both 2006 and 2011.

A history of the NCAA championships can be found below.

Year      I Eights    
   II Eights  
Fours Team Champion Prin Team Finish Prin V8 Finish
1997 Washington Princeton Brown Washington 2nd  
1998 Washington Virginia Southern Cal. Washington 6th  
1999 Brown Virginia Washington Brown 4th  
2000 Brown Brown Washington Brown 6th  
2001 Washington Michigan Washington Washington 5th  
2002 Washington Washington Brown Brown 7th  
2003 Harvard Brown Brown Harvard 7th  
2004 Brown Brown Virginia Brown 6th  
2005 California Virginia Virginia California 5th  
2006 Princeton Brown Brown California 3rd  
2007 Yale Minnesota Virginia Brown 8th  
2008 Yale Brown Washington Brown 12th  
2009 Stanford Yale Clemson California 10th  
2010 Yale Brown Virginia California 3rd 3rd
2011 Princeton Washington Brown Brown 4th 1st
2012 Virginia Michigan Ohio State Virginia 4th 4th
2013 California Ohio State California Ohio State 3rd 2nd
2014 Ohio State Ohio State California Ohio State 6th 7th
2015 Ohio State Brown Virginia Ohio State 11th 12th

1997 2V: Stephanie Jones, Joanna Schmidt, Ashley McCowen, Christy Wiegard, Kira Gresdiroff, Abigail Cromwell, Emily Jones, Michelle Clarke, Yon Sung [coxswain]

2006 1V: Caroline Lind, Kristin Haraldsdottir, Jackie Zider, Devan Darby, Andreanne Morin, Caroline Kruse, Genevra Stone, Kate Bertko, Lizzie Agnew [coxswain]

2011 1V: Lauren Wilkinson, Kelsey Reelick, Emily Reynolds, Michaela Strand, Heidi Robbins, Kelly Pierce, Molly Hamrick, Ashton Brown, Lila Flavin [coxswain]

NCAA Team Championship Scoring System

Place I Eights II Eights Fours
1st 48 32 16
2nd 45 30 15
3rd 42 28 14
4th 39 26 13
5th 36 24 12
6th 33 22 11
7th 30 20 10
8th 27 18 9
9th 24 16 8
10th 21 14 7
11th 18 12 6
12th 15 10 5
13th 12 8 4
14th 9 6 3
15th 6 4 2
16th 3 2 1






Hyatt New
Nissan Schedule
> Full Schedule and Results
No Events in the Near Future