Duo Earns College Sports Madness Preseason Honors
Courtesy: UNI Athletics Communications  
Release: Monday 08/14/2012

Two Panthers were named to the College Sports Madness Missouri Valley Preseason All-Conference Teams on Tuesday.  Junior midfielder Sam Copley was tabbed as a First Team selection and senior forward Melissa Hagan was named to the Second Team. 

“The staff at College Sports Madness has picked the top players in Women’s Soccer for the 2012 season. We expect these players to make significant contributions to their team in the upcoming season.”

Sam Copley is a junior midfielder from Woodward, Iowa.  Copley helped the Panthers to an 8-10-3 record while serving as one of the primary defenders.  Copley played in all 21 games last season for the Panthers, earning the starting nod in 20 of those contests.  She recorded four shots on the year with two coming on goal.  Aside from the offense Copley has been a key member on the Panther defense.  She helped UNI post a program-best seven shutouts en route to their second-ever appearance in the MVC Semifinals.  The No. 6-seeded Panthers, with the help of Copley, defeated the No. 3-seeded Creighton Bluejays in Omaha 5-3 on penalty kicks. 

Melissa Hagan is a senior forward from Massillon, Ohio.  Hagan was instrumental on the offensive side of the ball for UNI in 2011.  Hagan tied for second on the team in points with eight, ranked second on the team in goals with three, recorded two assists, and fired a team-best 16 of her 30 shots on goal. Hagan scored two goals that proved to be game-winners for the Panthers in 2011.  With the help of Hagan, UNI tallied 101 penalty kicks to just 83 for their opponents.  Hagan was also a big part on the defensive side of the ball as well.  Hagan helped the Panthers post seven shutouts on the year and advance to the MVC Semifinals for just the second time in program history. 


First Team

F Brittney Neumann, Creighton

F Kyla Cross, Illinois State

F Rachel Tejada, Illinois State

F Laura Moklestad, Drake

M Anna Stinson, Illinois State

M Stephanie Thompson, Evansville

M Sam Copley, Northern Iowa

M Michelle Sommer, Missouri State

D Megan Fisher, Drake

D Nia Williams, Missouri State

D Grace Cross, Missouri State

D Kristin Cooley, Illinois State

GK Kalena Litch, Drake

Second Team

F Lauren Cingoranelli, Creighton

F Rachel Weimer, Missouri State

F Melissa Hagan, Northern Iowa

F Kaitlin Robinett, Evansville

M Tatiana Pagan, Evansville

M Rachel Bostick, Illinois State

M Natalie Vaught, Indiana State

M Shelby Troyer, Indiana State

D Madelyn Buckner, Creighton

D Gabbi McArtor, Illinois State

D Kelsey Fouch, Missouri State

D Tori Flynn, Drake

GK Chaviel Harrison, Evansville

Offensive Player of the Year – Rachel Tejada, Illinois State

Defensive Player of the Year – Grace Cross, Missouri State

Freshman of the Year – Kaelyn Korte, Creighton

Coach of the Year – Drew Roff, Illinois State


Back to

Never Stops Tee
Pack N Go Jacket
Women's Twisted Tee
Varsity Polo
Lincoln Savings Bank
Wellmark 3 Point Play
Iowa Donor_300x250
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Missouri Valley Football Conference
Missouri Valley Conference
Learfield Sports
University of Northern Iowa
Diversity Matters