Cuthbertson's .432 batting average ranked fifth in the nation last season
SUU Strategic Communications

SUU's Cuthbertson Named Lowe's Senior CLASS Award Candidate

February 24, 2012
By SUU Strategic Communication

Related Links

CEDAR CITY, Utah – Feb. 24 – Southern Utah’s Bo Cuthbertson is up for another prestigious award after being selected as a candidate for the Lowe’s Senior CLASS Award on Friday. An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Thirty NCAA baseball student-athletes who excel both on and off the field were selected as candidates today for the 2012 Lowe's Senior CLASS Award. To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence - community, classroom, character and competition.

Cuthbertson was selected based on his exemplary contributions in each of those four categories. The senior baseball standout is studying Physical Education and Human Performance at SUU and has twice earned Academic All-Conference honors. Cuthbertson has also been named the team captain for each of the past two seasons, largely due to his tremendous work ethic. He has also taken time giving back to the community, volunteering in various scholastic and civic activities and events.

The Thunderbird star also posted the fifth highest batting average in the nation last year with a .432 mark, and was among the nation’s leaders in triples, slugging percentage (.688) and on base percentage (.496).

The 2012 candidate class includes six Capital One Academic All-Americans from last season and 10 student-athletes with cumulative grade point averages of 3.5 or higher. Three candidates were National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association first-team All-Americans in 2011, eight candidates are on teams ranked in the USA Today/ESPN preseason top 25 coach's poll, and three participated in last year's NCAA College World Series.