Article Image

Cougar Volleyball Picked To Win SoCon South Division

          Release: 08/15/2012
Print RSS
Share |
Related Links
SPARTANBURG, S.C. - The College of Charleston volleyball team was selected to finish first in the Southern Conference South Division as selected by the league's coaches in the 2012 preseason poll.

This marks the fourth time in the last five seasons that the Cougars have been picked to win the South Division. Last year, CofC won the division with a league-best 14-2 SoCon record, advancing to the SoCon Tournament title match. Samford, the 2011 tournament champions, were picked to finish first in the North Division.

Sophomore Sloane White, the 2011 SoCon Rayna Taylor Freshman of the Year, was the lone CofC representative on the eight-person Preseason All-Conference team. White led the Cougars with 374 kills along with 140 digs and 83 blocks.

College of Charleston has won either the regular season division title or conference tournament championship each of the last 11 seasons. Over that stretch, the Cougars have amassed 297 wins which ranks eighth among all NCAA Division I volleyball programs.

CofC returns 10 student-athletes from last year's squad including five starters. Sophomore Lizzie Theesfeld was a SoCon All-Freshman team honoree, while redshirt-senior Emily Shelton ranked near the top of the conference in digs.

The Cougars will be looking to replace graduated middle blockers Elyse Chubb and Sarah Havel, both of whom were All-SoCon First Team last year. CofC welcomes four newcomers to this year's squad in transfer Darcy Dorton and freshmen Grace Rebarchak, Melissa Morello and Kari Fidelholtz.

2012 Preseason Coaches' Poll
School (First-Place Votes) Total Points

1. Samford (10) 65
2. Appalachian State (2) 48
3. Elon 41
4. UNCG 38
5. Chattanooga 27
Western Carolina 27

1. College of Charleston (6) 59
2. Furman (3) 57
3. Georgia Southern (3) 52
4. Davidson 36
5. Wofford 26
6. The Citadel 16

2012 Preseason All-Conference Team
Name School Position
Elizabeth Neisler Samford OH
Lauren Hutchinson Samford MB
Kate Van Dyke Georgia Southern S
Sloane White CofC MB/RS
Natalie Braun Furman OH
Katie Murphy Samford MB
Caroline Brown Davidson OH
Caroline Adams Furman MB