Stony Brook's Kyle Moeller and UNH's Kate Keagins are the 2012 Fans' Choice Players of the Year.
Stony Brook's Kyle Moeller and UNH's Kate Keagins are the 2012 Fans' Choice Players of the Year.
Courtesy: America East Communications

Moeller & Keagins Take Home the Fans' Votes

Release: 04/30/2012

CAMBRIDGE, Mass.-- Stony Brook University's Kyle Moeller and University of New Hampshire's Kate Keagins are the 2012 America East Men's and Women's Lacrosse Fans' Choice Players of the Year as determined by the fans' votes on the America East Facebook page.

One of six finalists for the award, Moeller received 29 percent (145 votes) of the nearly 500 votes. He was followed by Binghamton's Michael Antinozzi (23 percent) and UMBC's Scott Jones (16 percent).

Moeller, a senior defender, led Stony Brook to its third straight America East regular-season title after starting all 14 games for the Seawolves in 2012. He heads up a defense that has held opponents to a league-best 9.43 goals per game so far this season. A first-team all-conference selection in 2011, Moeller leads SBU with 24 caused turnovers and has picked up 30 ground balls, which ranks fourth on the team.

Keagins received 31 percent of the votes, 338 of 1079 total votes cast for the women's award. In the four-year history of the award, New Hampshire becomes the fourth different school to have a player awarded the fans' top choice.

Keagins, a senior midfielder from Bay Shore, N.Y., has 29 goals and 38 points this season. Contributing on both the offensive and defensive ends of the field for the Wildcats, Keagins also leads the conference with 28 caused turnovers (1.87 per game) and leads UNH with 34 draw controls and 31 ground balls. The senior will play her final collegiate game when the Wildcats close out the regular season at Boston College Tuesday at 4 p.m.

Keagins beat out the reigning Player of the Year Danielle Etrasco from Boston U. who received 28 percent of the votes (307) and the 2011 Fans' Choice Women's Lacrosse Player of the Year Samantha Stern of University of Vermont (20 percent; 213).

One nominee from each school was listed on the America East Fans' Choice Player of the Year ballots with voting running from May 24-30.

All-Time America East Men's Lacrosse Fans' Choice Players of Year
2012 - Kyle Moeller, Stony Brook
2011 - Drew Philie, Vermont
2010 - Drew Philie, Vermont
2009 - Andrew Kelleher, Vermont

All-Time America East Women's Lacrosse Fans' Choice Players of the Year
2012 - Kate Keagins, New Hampshire
2011 - Samantha Stern, Vermont
2010 - Ali Castiglie, Binghamton
2009 - Nikki Branchini, Albany