The Nebraska swimming and diving team finished eleventh at the Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships
Photo by BreAnna Haessler/NU Media Relations

Session Seven: Huskers Finish Eleventh at Big Ten Championships

By NU Athletic Communications
The Nebraska swimming and diving team finished eleventh at the team's first ever Big Ten Swimming and Diving Championships. Saturday night's final session saw the finals of the 1,650-yard freestyle, 200-yard backstroke, 100-yard freestyle, 200-yard breaststroke, 200-yard butterfly, platform dive and the 400-yard freestyle relay.

The 1,650-yard freestyle saw Bailey Pons finish 19th overall with a time of 16:34.75, a career-best and good for fifth all-time at NU.

1,650-Yard Freestyle Results:
19th - Bailey Pons, 16:34.75 (career-best, 5th all-time)
34th - Mailene Leslie, 17:02.07 (season-best)
37th - Riley Seidel, 17:06.81 (career-best)
42nd - Morgan Flannigan, 17:17.26 (season-best)
48th - Ashleigh Grammar, 17:39.11 (season-best)
49th - Bobbi Balogh, 17:57.66 (season-best)

Ellan Dufour finished 26th in the 200-yard backstroke finals. She was the only Husker to reach the finals in the event.

200-Yard Backstroke Results:
26th - Ellan Dufour, 2:01.07 (season-best)

The 100-yard freestyle finals saw NU's Ariel Weech finish 19th at 50.16. The time was 5th all-time at NU.

100-Yard Freestyle Results:
19th - Ariel Weech, 50.16 (career-best, 5th all-time)

Shannon Guy finished 15th in the 200-yard butterfly finals. She set a career-best time in the race earlier in the afternoon's sixth session.

200-Yard Butterfly Results:
15th - Shannon Guy, 2:02.48

The final diving event of the championships, the platform dive, saw three NU swimmers compete and place.

Platform Diving Results:
11th - Kaitlan Walker, 278.20 (career-best)
16th - Alyson Ramsey, 224.70 (career-best)
22nd - Amy Herman, 209.25

The final event of the Big Ten Championships saw the NU team of Hayley Martin, Ariel Weech, Bailey Pons and Kelly Dunn finish tenth in the 400-yard freestyle relay with a time of 3:22.23.

Final Big Ten Championship Team Results:

1. University of Minnesota 680.5
2. Indiana University 651
3. Ohio State University 560
4. Wisconsin, University of 411
5. Pennsylvania State University 379.5
6. Purdue University 285
7. Northwestern University 258
8. Michigan, University of 241
9. Iowa, University of 201
10. University of Illinois 84
11. Nebraska, University of 82
12. Michigan State University 65


More News Sponsor - First National Bank
Swimming and Diving Mar. 17
Swimming and Diving Mar. 16
Swimming and Diving Mar. 7
Swimming and Diving Feb. 17


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub