Print  
#21 Dion Turner
Position: Cornerback
Height: 6'0"
Weight: 195
Year: Senior
Hometown: Hanford, Calif.
High School: Oakland Tech
Experience: 3 Letters
0
Turner Photos

At SUU, 2010: Moved to cornerback in spring ball and wound up earning first-team all-Great West Conference honors from the coaches and a second-team nod from the media. Was sixth on the team in tackles, and third among returning players, with 54 tackles, including 36 solo stops. Also was in on 2.5 tackles-for-loss, intercepted a pass, broke up four more and recovered a fumble. Tallied 11 tackles vs. Cal Poly, including eight solo stops and a tackle-for-loss. Also had eight tackles at San Jose State (six solo), and eight at UC Davis (four solo) with a seven-tackle performance at Eastern Washington.

At SUU, 2009: Finished fifth on the team and second among safeties with 61 tackles, including 40 solo stops. Also had a tackle-for-loss, an interception, broke up one pass, forced a fumble and recovered another. Had seven tackles at San Diego State, eight vs. Eastern Washington, 10 at Northern Arizona (including eight solo stops) and a season-best 14 (with 10 solos) at Utah State. His interception came in the end zone at South Dakota.

At SUU, 2008: Earned significant playing time later in the season, tallied eight tackles, five solo, in the final four games. Tallied six tackles, five solo, in last spring’s Red/White Scrimmage.

Personal: Earned two letters playing for Coach Delton Edwards at Oakland Tech. Was named team’s Most Improved Player his senior season when he racked up 46 tackles with four interceptions and nine passes broken up to earn second-team all-American honors. Helped his team to the second round of the Oakland city sectionals. Was a two-time all-conference performer in basketball, also lettered in baseball and volleyball. Parents are Jean and Bill Johnson. Is majoring in physical education and human performance.

Sat. Nov. 30
@ Sam Houston State
NCAA Division I Playoffs
1:00
Sat. Nov. 23
vs. Northern Arizona
(L) 10 -20
Sat. Nov. 16
@ Montana State
(W) 22 -14
Sat. Nov. 9
@ Weber State
(W) 27 -21
Sat. Oct. 26
vs. Idaho State
(W) 19 -9
Sat. Oct. 19
@ Eastern Washington
(L) 10 -34
Sat. Aug. 30
@ Nevada
TBA
Sat. Sep. 6
@ Southeastern Louisiana
TBA
Sat. Sep. 13
vs. South Dakota State (Homecoming)
6:05 p.m.
Sat. Sep. 20
@ Fresno State
TBA
Sat. Sep. 27
vs. Weber State
6:05 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 4
@ Cal Poly
TBA
Sat. Oct. 11
vs. Eastern Washington
1:05 p.m.
Sat. Oct. 18
@ Idaho State
TBA
Sat. Oct. 25
vs. North Dakota
1:05 p.m.