2011-12 Officers

Marilyn McNeil

Director of Athletics
Monmouth University

Ron Strollo
Executive Director of Athletics
Youngstown State Universit

Brian Hutchinson

Director of Athletics
Morehead State University

Charlie Cobb
Director of Athletics
Appalachian State Universit

Executive Committee

The Sports network
FCS top-25 poll

1. Eastern Washington (90)
2. Appalachian State (14)
3. William & Mary (20)
4. Georgia Southern (11)
5. Delaware (2)
6. Montana State
7. Northern Iowa
8. Wofford
9. Jacksonville State
10. New Hampshire (1)
11. North Dakota State
12. Montana
13. Lehigh
14. Villanova
15. James Madison
16. Richmond
17. Stephen F. Austin
18. Central Arkansas
19. Southern Illinois
20. McNeese State
21. Chattanooga
22. Liberty
23. South Carolina State
24. Sacramento State
25. Massachusetts

If you have any questions, comments and/or story ideas for the Red Zone, please contact Editor Andy Solomon, Associate AD/ Communications, The Citadel at 843-953-6300

24651 Detroit Rd.
Westlake, OH 44145

I am busy packing my bags for this journey as the FCS ADA President.  To date, my travel diary had many notes from some awesome tour guides:  Don Kaverman, Tim Van Alstine, Peter Fields and most recently Greg Burke. 

There were many others, but I would be remiss if I didn't recognize the late Brenda Weare, who made a historic journey into the land of FCS AQ's, and returned with a successful story.  Only she didn't get to bask too long in her achievement, as she lost her battle with cancer in June 2009. We planted a tree in her memory at Monmouth, and the Northeast Conference cherished our first AQ with Robert Morris our victor. Thanks Brenda! And thanks to the FCS and the NCAA for allowing another 1,000 student-athletes and a minimum of their 25,000 closest friends and family to dream of this opportunity to challenge themselves at the highest level.  

And so the journey continues.  I have been buoyed by the excitement that surrounds this ‘newly-formed’ championship event.  New venue, new look, new opportunities!  But, all of us must remember all of the really good things that went on in this championship for a number of years in Chattanooga … the groundwork was laid very firmly and enthusiastically and there were many terrific games and moments. 

Now, after a very successful launch, and a group of focused administrators talking during two day-long sessions, the travel itinerary is updated.  Now, we will have stops at branding and marketing, at re-thinking the championship game, and at bracket expansion and playoff bids. 

These are all stops that will make our product better if we think through them globally and inclusively.  Is this the right number of schools?  Is this the right date?  Is this the right label?  What are our strengths?  Where can we improve our product?  What do our fans believe and think about FCS Football? 

Communication is a key, and educating our stakeholders, particularly our Presidents, about the value of Division I Football at our level will be the highest priority for our 2011-12 agenda.  There is much work to be done to ensure our success.   I certainly hope all of you are packing your bags!

Marilyn McNeil
Director of Athletics, Monmouth University
President, FCS ADA

FCS ADA Announces Officers and Executive Committee
Courtesy: fcsada.com

The members of the Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) have selected Marilyn McNeil, director of athletics at Monmouth University to serve as President during 2011-12 and also elected the following athletics directors to serve as officers during the upcoming year – Ron Strollo, Youngstown State University, 1st Vice President; Brian Hutchinson, Morehead State University, 2nd Vice President; and Charlie Cobb, Appalachian State University, 3rd Vice President.

Complete Release

Colonial Athletic Association heads movement

to give FCS players an extra year

Courtesy: John Frierson, The Times Free Press

(Chattanooga, Tenn.)

The Colonial Athletic Association is leading a push in the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision that would give players five years of eligibility.

Complete Release

No FCS playoffs for Idaho State, Jackson State, Southern

Courtesy: The Sports Network

The Idaho State, Jackson State and Southern football programs are ineligible for the 2011 postseason under Academic Progress Rate sanctions announced by the NCAA on May 24. APR scores measure the classroom performance of a team over a four-year period.  The new scores reflect the 2006-07 through 2009-10 school years.

Complete Release

Mercer University, Stetson University to join

Pioneer Football League in 2013

Courtesy: The Pioneer Football League

Pioneer Football League Commissioner Patty Viverito announced on June 13 that Mercer University and Stetson University have accepted the league's invitations for membership.  Both institutions will begin play with the 2013 season, bringing the league’s membership to 12 teams at that time.

Complete Release

2011 Divisional College Football Hall of Fame Class Announced

Courtesy: CollegeFootball.org


Two-time Buck Buchanan Award winner Dexter Coakley from Appalachian State and former James Madison standout Charles Haley highlighted the 2011 divisional class for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame.

Complete Release

FCS ADA Selected Borden Perlman Grant Winners

Courtesy: fcsada.com


The Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) selected the 15 FCS members who attended the 2011 National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention in Orlando, Fla. via the Borden Perlman Insurance Professional Development Grants.

Complete Release

FCS ADA Announced Academic Progress Rate (APR)

Award Winners

Courtesy: fcsada.com


The Football Championship Subdivision Athletics Directors Association (FCS ADA) announced the recipients of the Academic Progress Rate (APR) Award. The APR Award recognizes one institution at each of the 14 FCS conferences that has the highest APR score. In addition, the Association also recognized one institution from each conference that improved the most from the previous year. In all, 28 awards are given.

Complete Release

Under Armour ADOY Winners
Courtesy: NACDA.com


The Under Armour AD of the Year program was created to honor intercollegiate directors of athletics for their commitment and administrative excellence within a campus and/or college community environment. There are four geographic regions - northeast, southeast, central and west; while the membership is separated into seven categories - Football Bowl Subdivision (formerly Division I-A); Football Championship Subdivision (formerly Division I-AA); Division I (formerly Division I-AAA); Division II; Division III; NAIA; and Junior/Community Colleges. One winner was selected in each of the seven categories, for a total of 28 honorees.


This year's FCS winners were:


Charlie Cobb Appalachian State University Southeast
Robert Hill Stephen F. Austin State University West
Ron Prettyman Indiana State University Central
Joe Sterrett Lehigh University Northeast

For a complete listing of past award winners, click here.

Ten games that will shape the FCS Season
Courtesy: Craig Haley, The Sports Network

So much changes during the course of the FCS season that it's dangerous for people to look too far down any team's schedule and say, "Win here, loss here...," and believe they have everything figured out.

Complete Release