Greg Burke
Director of Athletics
Northwestern State University
Marilyn McNeil
Director of Athletics
Monmouth University

Ron Strollo
Executive Director of Athletics
Youngstown State University
Brian Hutchinson
Director of Athletics
Morehead State University
Executive Committee

2011 FCS National Championship

Bracket Announcement

First Round - on campus

Second Round - on campus

DECEMBER 10 or 11
Quarterfinals - on campus

DECEMBER 17 or 18
Semifinals - on campus

JANUARY 7, 2011
FCS Championship
Frisco, Texas
on ESPN2HD at 7 p.m. ET

Championship Committee

Jeff Barber
Liberty University

Robert Bernardi
Nicholls State University

Jeff Bourne
James Madison University

Charles Cobb
Appalachian State University

Craig Coleman
Robert Morris University

Bruce McCutcheon
Lafayette College

Jim O'Day
University of Montana

Mark Sandy
Eastern Kentucky University

Ron Strollo
Youngstown State University

Tim Wabler
University of Dayton

If you have any questions, comments and/or story ideas for the Red Zone, please contact Editor Andy Solomon, Associate AD/ Communications, The Citadel at 843-953-6300

24651 Detroit Rd.
Westlake, OH 44145



Can you believe that we are already talking about the playoffs for the 2010 football season?  It seems like just yesterday that preseason practice was starting and that traditional “everybody’s undefeated” phrase was being thrown around!

On the horizon is what surely will be another exciting FCS playoff, especially in light of the fact that the postseason field will be expanded from 16 to 20 teams.  As a past member of what was then the “I-AA” playoff selection committee, I remember how challenging it was to make difficult decisions which ultimately denied postseason competition to good football teams. 

Adding four more teams to the FCS postseason mix will accomplish two very important goals which are important to the NCAA and to our subdivision:  opportunity and student-athlete experience.  As a result of expansion, more than 200 additional football student-athletes will have the opportunity to extend their on-field passion for at least one more week, and whether playing at home or on the road, those young men will experience that special feeling that is so much a part of postseason competition.

Looking ahead to the January 7 FCS title game, plans for an all-day FCS Summit continue to develop.  It is hoped that a large turnout of FCS athletics directors will travel to Frisco, Texas, in a show of support for our championship event.  The FCS Athletics Directors Association has agreed to serve as sponsor of the summit luncheon, which will feature an address by NCAA President, Dr. Mark Emmert.  In addition, response has been good regarding participation by current and past FCS players from the professional ranks.  A comprehensive schedule for the summit will be sent to you in the very near future.

Finally, I encourage everyone to continue promoting the FCS brand in any way possible.  Again, it is one of those “little things” but as the regular season winds down and the playoffs approach, simply having the FCS “Top 25” listed in your local paper truly is meaningful.

I extend my best wishes to everyone for a safe and successful conclusion to the 2010 FCS football campaign!

Greg Burke
Director of Athletics, Northwestern State University
President, FCS ADA


Southland Conference, Team Frisco LOC to Roll Out Red Carpet

Frisco, Texas is the new host city for the 2010 NCAA Division I Football Championship game, which will be played at Pizza Hut Park on Jan. 7, 2011. The 23,500-seat multi-purpose stadium will be the host site for the championship game for the next three years.

The local organizing committee consists of the City of Frisco, its Economic Development Corporation and Convention & Visitors Bureau, Hunt Sports Group/Pizza Hut Park, the Frisco Chamber of Commerce and Frisco based Southland Conference. Complete Release

The Kansas City Chiefs drafted Jared Allen out of Idaho State in 2004.  Since then, he has made three Pro Bowl appearances.  Only three other players from the FCS level have been to as many in the time period, and just eight others have made multiple Pro Bowls.  Here is the list, as provided by the Sporting News, prior to the 2010 season:


Name, Position Current Team College Pro Bowls
Jared Allen,
Minnesota Vikings Idaho State 3

Matt Birk,

Baltimore Ravens Harvard 3
Tony Romo,
Dallas Cowboys Eastern Illinois 3
Darren Sharper, FS New Orleans
William & Mary 3
Antoine Bethea, FS Indianapolis Colts Howard 2
Nick Collins,
Green Bay Packers Bethune-Cookman 2
Donald Driver, WR Green Bay Packers Alcorn State 2
Robert Mathis, DE Indianapolis Colts Alabama A&M 2
Terrell Owens, WR Cincinnati Bengals Tennessee Chattanooga 2
Jeremiah Trotter, LB Free Agent Stephen F. Austin 2
Osi Umenyiora, DE * New York Giants Troy 2
Brian Westbrook, RB San Francisco 49ers Villanova 2

*Umenyiora played for Troy from 1999-02.  Troy was I-AA in 1999 and 2000, but was a Division I-A independent in 2001 and 2002.