Greg Burke
Director of Athletics
Northwestern State University

Marilyn McNeil
Director of Athletics
Monmouth Universit

Ron Strollo
Executive Director of Athletics
Youngstown State University

Brian Hutchinson
Director of Athletics
Morehead State Universit

Executive Committee

The Sports network/ Final top-25 Poll

1. Eastern Washington
2. Delaware
3. Villanova
4. Appalachian State
5. Georgia Southern
6. Wofford
7. New Hampshire
8. Stephen F. Austin State
9. North Dakota State
10. William & Mary
11. Montana State
12. Jacksonville State
13. Southeast Missouri St.
14. Lehigh
15. Bethune-Cookman
16. South Carolina State
17. Western Illinois
18. Pennsylvania
19. Northern Iowa
20. Montana
21. Liberty
22. Jacksonville
23. Grambling State
24. Cal Poly
25. Dayton

2010 Players of the Week


If you have any questions, comments and/or story ideas for the Red Zone, please contact Editor Andy Solomon, Associate AD/ Communications, The Citadel at 843-953-6300

24651 Detroit Rd.
Westlake, OH 44145



As the 2010-11 year winds down, so does my term as the FCS ADA President.  In writing this last column for The Red Zone, I would like to reflect on what has been a most enjoyable and fulfilling year. 

I first and foremost would like to stress that it has been an honor and a privilege to serve in the capacity of FCS ADA President.  There are so many talented and dedicated administrators within the FCS subdivision that I feel blessed to have been afforded this opportunity and have taken very seriously the obligation to carry out the responsibilities of that office in the best manner possible. 

Over 20 years of working on a daily basis for FCS (and formerly I-AA) subdivision programs had already helped me develop a pretty good appreciation for the teams and personnel within the subdivision.  Over the course of the past year, however, my level of passion for the "FCS" label has grown immensely.  We are at a critical crossroads as it relates to enhancing the brand, viability and sustainability of our subdivision.  A good old-fashioned "group effort" will be needed to take what already is a very solid group of football programs and raise their profile to another level.  I stand ready to continue doing what I can to help incoming President Marilyn McNeil in any way possible.  I want to stay involved. 

Several positive moments come to mind as I reminisce about the past year.  The City of Frisco (Texas) and The Southland Conference definitely put their best foot forward in Year One of hosting the FCS National Championship game.  As I mentioned in a previous column, the student-athlete experience was uppermost in the minds of the game's organizers and they are to be commended for making that area a focal point of their planning.  In conjunction with the game was the FCS Summit, the first time that an event of this nature had been held in a good while.  Attendance was excellent and I think the summit left attendees satisfied with the first step and eager to become more involved in enhancing the FCS organization.  Again, kudos are extended to Southland Commissioner Tom Burnett and his staff for embracing both the game and the summit with meticulous and passionate effort.

I would remiss if I were not to mention the chance, on two different occasions, to spend time with new NCAA President, Dr. Mark Emmert.  Dr. Emmert was keynote speaker at the FCS Summit luncheon and then attended the NACDA Mid-Winter Meetings.  I am impressed with Dr. Emmert's ability to be so attentive to so many different facets and factions within the NCAA structure.  In addition, the student-athlete experience is paramount in his thinking and that means a lot to me, as I know it does to everyone who works on a daily basis in college athletics.  Also, and this is one of the best parts of working in college athletics, I enjoyed the chance over the past year to strengthen already existing relationships and at the same time, to meet and make new acquaintances.  There are so many good people in our industry!

Finally, I cannot adequately thank Jason Galaska and Pat Manak at the NACDA office for their guidance, support, friendship and, yes, time spent commiserating about our seemingly always struggling Cleveland sports teams.  Seriously, I have a strong appreciation for what Jason and Pat, along with the entire NACDA staff, do for the betterment of the college athletics.  Thanks, Pat and Jason, more than I can express!

Again, I am grateful for the opportunity I was afforded over the past year and look forward to seeing everyone at the NACDA Convention in Orlando in June!

Greg Burke
Director of Athletics, Northwestern State University
President, FCS ADA

10th Annual Scholar-Athletes of the Year Selected


Kyle Glazier, a linebacker from Western Illinois University and Tim McGraw, a center from the University of Northern Colorado, have been chosen as the recipients of the 10th Annual Division I FCS ADA Scholar-Athletes of the Year.


Kyle Glazier
Photo Courtesty of
Western Illinois
Tim McGraw
Photo Courtesy of
Northern Colorado


Each will receive a $5,000 postgraduate scholarship. The duo was selected from a group of seven finalists. They will receive their awards during the Association’s annual membership meeting being held in conjunction with the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) Convention, being held at the World Center Marriott Resort in Orlando, Florida, June 16-18.

Complete Release



The NCAA Football Rules Committee is recommending changes that better manage blocking below the waist in an effort to enhance player safety. Some low blocks will remain legal, but the committee is attempting to eliminate unsuspecting players from absorbing low blocks.


In addition, discussions took place on umpire alignment and the new taunting rule which goes into affect in 2011.

Complete Release

Rhode Island Football Player Becomes a Marrow Donor
Courtesy: Tom Symonds, Rhode Island Athletics

Photo Credit: Rhode Island Athletics

University of Rhode Island football junior offensive lineman Matt Greenhalgh completed a bone marrow donation in April at the Rhode Island Blood Center in Providence. Greenhalgh's bone marrow donation will help save a leukemia patient's life.

The Chepachet, R.I. native joins several football student-athletes who recently have used national donor programs to affect lives. Rowan senior defensive lineman Matt Hoffman donated blood stem cells and missed the final game of his junior season in 2009 but was rewarded when he met the man who received them at the Stagg Bowl this past season. Villanova all-purpose back Matt Szczur to a 19-month-old leukemia patient last year.

Complete Release


Courtesy: The Sports Network


Former Coach

New Coach

Alcorn State
Earnest Collins
Melvin Spears Jr.
Delaware State
Al Lavan
Kermit Blount
Pete Lembo
Jason Swepson
Bobby Lamb
Bruce Fowler
Steve Patton
Ron Dickerson Jr.
Grambling State
Rod Broadway
Doug Williams
Carey Bailey
Gary Harrell
Idaho State
John Zamberlin
Mike Kramer
Alonzo Lee/George Ragsdale (Interim)
Rod Broadway
Prairie View A&M
Henry Frazier
Heishma Northern
Savannah State
Julius Dixon
Steve Davenport
Texas State
Brad Wright
Dennis Franchione
Texas Southern
Johnnie Cole
Kevin Ramsey