Brett Harris Named CAA Rookie of The Year - Five Others Honored

May 19, 2009
By ODU Athletics
ODU Sports

May 19, 2009

WILMINGTON, NC--The Colonial Athletic Association announced that ODU Freshman pitcher/Designated hitter Brett Harris (Chesapeake, Va. -Hickory HS) has been named 2009 Rookie of the Year. Five other Monarchs also earned All-League honors in the voting by the league head coaches.

Harris led ODU with a 6-4 record and a league best five complete games. At the plate, he hit .315 with 31 RBI. Harris also ranks fourth in the CAA with 80 innings pitched.

ODU junior thirdbaseman Jake McAloose (Virginia Beach, Va.) was named to the first team All-CAA, while shortstop Gerard Hall (Washington, DC.) was selected to the second team, and senior centerfielder Max Most (Port Washington, NY.) was a third team pick.

McAloose led ODU in hitting with a .408 batting average which ranks him third in the CAA. He hit four homers with 39 RBI. Hall hit .323 with 33 RBI and 10 stolen bases. He enters the CAA tournament with a 17-game hitting streak. Most led the CAA with 44 walks as he hit .335 with 15 stolen bases.

Joining Harris on the CAA All-Rookie squad was righthander Ben Tomchick (Virginia Beach, Va.), and first baseman Josh Wright (Bridgewater, VA.). Tomchick ranked second in the CAA with a 3.51 earned run average, third in innings pitched at 82 and ninth in strikeouts with 60. He compiled a 5-3 record and fanned 60 batters in 82 innings of work. Wright led ODU with 10 homers and 46 RBI while hitting .259.

George Mason's Chris Henderson and Scott Krieger were named Co-Players of the Year, while Henderson was named CAA Defensive Player of the Year. The Patriots head coach Bill Brown was selected Coach of the Year. Henderson hit .427 with 13 homers and 51 RBI for Mason, while Krieger hit .383 with 18 homers and 76 RBI.

The fourth seed Monarchs open play in the CAA Championships Wednesday night at Brooks Field in Wilmington, NC. against the third seed Seahawks of UNC Wilmington.

 2009 All-CAA Baseball Teams
1st team 
C - Chris Henderson, George Mason
1B - Justin Bour, George Mason
2B - Mike Fabiaschi, James Madison
SS - Gary Helmick, Towson
3B - Jake McAloose, Old Dominion
OF - Scott Krieger, George Mason
OF - Mark Stuckless, Hofstra
OF - Matt Townsend, James Madison
UT - Trevor Knight, James Madison
DH - Derek Simmons, Georgia State
SP - Mike Modica, George Mason
SP - Kevin Crum, George Mason
RP - Kevin Munson, James Madison

Co-Players of the Year: Chris Henderson, George Mason & Scott Krieger, George Mason Defensive Player of the Year: Chris Henderson, George Mason Rookie of the Year: Brett Harris, Old Dominion Coach of the Year: Bill Brown, George Mason

2nd team C - Marc Mimeault, Georgia State 1B - Matt Collins, Towson 2B - Chris Wychock, Towson SS - Gerard Hall, Old Dominion 3B - Carlos Alonso, Delaware OF - Kevin Collins, Towson OF - Rob Nickle, William & Mary OF - Matt Browning, James Madison UT - Austin Harclerode, Towson DH - Shane Davis, George Mason SP - Turner Phelps, James Madison SP - Ryan Moore, Georgia State RP - Trevor Smith, Northeastern

3rd team C - Ryan Reed, Delaware 1B - Robbie Monday, UNC Wilmington 2B - Ryan Soares, George Mason SS - Mike Rooney, UNC Wilmington 3B - Tyler Stampone, William & Mary OF - Bill Merkler, Delaware OF - Max Most, Old Dominion OF - Alex Foltz, James Madison UT - Brandon Williams, Georgia State DH - Bryan Lescanec, James Madison SP - Ian Thomas, VCU SP - Kevin Landry, William & Mary RP - Aiden Francis, Georgia State

All-Rookie Team Matt Davenport, William & Mary Steven Davis, UNC Wilmington Chris Forsten, William & Mary Aiden Francis, Georgia State Brett Harris, Old Dominion Matt Miller, Northeastern Rich O'Donald, Delaware Ben Tomchick, Old Dominion Ben Winter, Towson Josh Wright, Old Dominion