ODU Athletics

Turkoglu, Roberts and Tapper Garner All-Conference Accolades

November 05, 2019
By ODU Athletics

NORFOLK, Va. – Ece Turkoglu was named the Conference USA Co-Freshman of the Year, as well as was named to the All-League Third Team and All-Freshman squad, while ODU women’s soccer team co-captains Emily Roberts and Talia Tapper garnered All-Conference Second Team accolades.

As a true freshman defensive midfielder, Turkoglu helped marshal the central midfield for ODU, while scoring two goals to go along with three assists for seven points (fifth on team). Over half her points came in league play. She had an assist against Marshall and UTSA and scored a goal against Middle Tennessee. She has played over 1,200 minutes this season and scored a goal on her first ever college shot in her first ever college match.

Roberts anchored ODU’s backline in every match this season, logging a team-high in minutes (over 1,800) this year. She helped ODU’s defense pitch five shutouts. Roberts and the rest of the defense allowed one goal or less in 12 matches out of 18. Roberts had one goal and two assists for four points as a defender. Yesterday, Roberts was named to the All-Conference Academic Team and was named the C-USA Defensive Player of the Week.

Tapper, a two-time team captain helped the program get off to its best start since 2006, as the Monarchs completed non-conference play undefeated. Tapper not only started every game for the Monarchs, but the midfielder logged the third most minutes on the team. Her three goals (off 11 shots on frame), as well as three assists ranked fourth on the team. Tapper’s nine points was the third most on the team, while her six points in C-USA play was tied for first on the team.

Superlative Awards
Player of the Year: Peyton DePriest, Middle Tennessee
Offensive Player of the Year: Peyton DePriest, Middle Tennessee
Defensive Player of the Year: Dominique James, North Texas
Midfielder of the Year: Mary O’Hara Flrida Atlantic
Co-Freshmen of the Year: Ece Turkoglu, Old Dominion & Luisa Daikeler, Florida Atlantic
Goalkeeper of the Year: Kelsey Brann, North Texas
Coach of the Year: Patrick Baker, Florida Atlantic

All-Conference First Team
GK: Kelsey Brann, North Texas
D: Riley Orr, Charlotte
D: Alex Maxson, Florida Atlantic
D: Dominique James, North Texas
MF: Mary O’Hara, Florida Atlantic
MF: Hannah Tillett, Middle Tennessee
MF: Ambere Barnett, WKU
F: Megan Greene, Charlotte
F: Pernille Velta, Florida Atlantic
F: Autumn Woodard, Louisiana Tech
F: Peyton DePriest, Middle Tennessee

All-Conference Second Team
GK: Cassidy Wasdin, Florida Atlantic
D: Emily Roberts, Old Dominion
D: Mijke Roelfsema, Rice
D: Caitlin Pierce, Southern Miss
D: Lauren Crenshaw, UTEP
MF: Julia Grainda, Charlotte
MF: Talia Tapper, Old Dominion
MF: Delaney Schultz, Rice
F: Marah Abu-Tayeh, Marshall
F: Berklee Peters, North Texas
F: Ellis Patterson, UTSA

All-Conference Third Team
GK: Eve Beyer, UAB
D: Luisa Daikeler, Florida Atlantic
D: Elizabeth Doll, Louisiana Tech
D: Audria Wood, UAB
D: Kaylyn Bryant, WKU
MF: Logan Bruffett, North Texas
MF: Ece Turkoglu, Old Dominion
MF: Lianne Mananquil, Rice
MF: Jenny Caracheo, Southern Miss
F: Allie Byrd, North Texas
F: Lexi Bolton, UTSA
F: Ariel Diaz, Southern Miss

All-Freshman Team
Kristy Campbell, D, Charlotte
Julia Patrum, MF, Charlotte
Luisa Daikeler, D, Florida Atlantic
Josie Studer, D, Louisiana Tech
Mackenzie Bonham, MF, Middle Tennessee
Allie Byrd, F, North Texas
Ece Turkoglu, MF, Old Dominion
Eve Beyer, GK, UAB
Tessa Carlin, MF, UTEP
Deja Sandoval, D, UTSA
Ansley Cate, F, WKU

MORE IN Women's Soccer


In Hindsight: 11/07/19
In Hindsight: 10/29/19
Hind Recaps UTEP Match & Talks About Her Four Seniors