Article Image

Cougar Cross Country Confident for CofC Classic

          Release: 10/15/2015
Print RSS
Share |
Related Links

CHARLESTON, S.C. - The College of Charleston cross country teams make haste northward for Rock Hill, S.C. this Friday to host the CofC Classic at Winthrop Farm.

Much like everything else in the Lowcountry over the past few weeks, this meet has been at the mercy of the elements, and as such, has been moved hither and tither on multiple occasions before settling at its current location.

Originally scheduled to take place at Trophy Lakes, tornado damage to the running surface necessitated a change of venue to Mullet Hall on the opposite side of Johns Island. However, that solution only proved viable for less than a week, and after historic flooding had its way with the region, a move outside of the Lowcountry entirely was deemed necessary, hence the current venue.

The Winthrop Farm course is one the Cougars have not traveled to since the 2012 campaign. Senior Kornelia Kostka, then a freshman, is the only active member of the roster to have raced at that meet. She finished fourth among her teammates and 68th overall with a time of 19:44.83 in the 5K meet. The team finished 12th overall.

Serendipitously, Kostka is not the only member of the team who has seen the course during her career. Sophomore teammate Hannah Lopez transferred from Winthrop University to come to The College in the offseason. While competing for the Eagles last season, Lopez competed in the Winthrop Adidas Invitational, held at the same course, where she finished second among her teammates with a time of 19:56.22 on the 5K track, going 28th overall.

Nobody on the men’s side has logged any previous encounters with the course. The team will rely on sophomore Crew Kosiorek and junior Josh Tierney, who’ve been consistency kings for the Cougars, with neither one finishing outside the top-three among their teammates at any meet this year. Colton Hennessey has also been a key contributor as of late, finishing second among his teammates in two consecutive meets.

The women will race at 4:45 p.m., followed by the men’s race at 5:15 p.m.