Article Image
Courtesy: CofCSports.com

Baylor Classic To Present Road Challenge For Cougars

Courtesy: CofCSports.com
          Release: 09/15/2016
Print RSS
Share |
Related Links

Baylor Classic

Friday, Sept. 16 – CofC vs. Washington State at 5:00 p.m. (ET) / 4:00 p.m. (CT) (Live Stats)

Saturday, Sept. 17 – CofC vs. Baylor at 12:00 p.m. (ET) / 11:00 a.m. (CT) (Live Video)

Saturday, Sept. 17 – CofC vs. Virginia at 6:00 p.m. (ET) / 5:00 p.m. (CT) (Live Stats)

CHARLESTON, S.C. – The Baylor Classic will present a road challenge for the College of Charleston volleyball team as it faces three Power 5 schools on Sept. 16-17 at the Ferrell Center in Waco, Texas.

Up first for the Cougars (6-3) will be a first-time meeting with Washington State (8-1) out of the Pac-12 Conference on Friday, Sept. 16 at 5 p.m. (ET) / 4 p.m. (CT), while CofC will face host Baylor (7-4) out of the Big 12 on Saturday, Sept. 17 at noon (ET) / 11 a.m. (CT) and Virginia (3-6) out of the ACC at 6 p.m. (ET) / 5 p.m.  (CT).

CofC is currently on a four-match win streak that includes victories over former Southern Conference rival Davidson (W, 3-0), VCU (W, 3-1), Charleston Southern (W, 3-1) and Eastern Michigan (W, 3-1).

Live statistics and live video (Baylor match only) will be available at the tournament website at: http://www.baylorbears.com/sports/w-volley/16-baylor-classic.html

Coach Kepner Pre-Tournament Thoughts: “I am excited to take this team on the road this weekend. This is a great opportunity for our team to challenge themselves against some really good competition. This should prepare us for the start of the CAA.”

Series History: College of Charleston and Baylor are tied 1-1 in the all-time series. Both schools last met at the 2011 Mortar Board Premier (L, 0-3) hosted by Purdue in West Lafayette, Ind. The Cougars previously beat the Bears (W, 3-0) on Sept. 10, 2015 in Knoxville, Tenn. CofC is also tied 1-1 in the all-time series with Virginia and the last meeting resulted in a 3-2 victory over the Cavaliers on Sept. 6, 2002 at the Virginia Invitational in Charlottesville, Va.

CAA Rookie of the Week: Freshman outside hitter Lauren Freed (Troy, Ohio) is the reigning Colonial Athletic Association Rookie of the Week coming off a weekend where she was named the tournament MVP of the Hampton Inn Charleston/West Ashley CofC Classic on Sept. 10. Freed recorded three-straight double-double performances versus VCU (20 kills and 11 digs), Charleston Southern (18 kills and 20 digs) and Eastern Michigan (19 kills and 12 digs).

stop