Six from W&M to Compete at USAT&F Championships
Updated: Thursday 06/25/2015 (ET)
by Jacob Skipper
Share |

Related Links
The William & Mary track and field teams will be well-represented at this week's USAT&F Track and Field Championships, with three men and three women competing across the senior and junior competitions.  The University of Oregon is hosting the two meets, which begin Thursday and continue through Sunday.  The championships also serve as selection events for several international meets, including the Pan-Am Games, Pan-Am Junior Games, and the IAAF World Track and Field Championships.

Live Results

W&M Schedule at USAT&F Championships
Athlete Calendar Time Event Notes
Betsy Graney '11 Thu., June 25 10:05 pm Eastern (7:05 pm Pacific) Senior 3,000m Steeplechase Semifinals Two-time CAA Champion, School Record-Holder, 2012 NCAA Division II Athlete of the Year
Elaina Balouris '14 Thu., June 25 10:35 pm Eastern (7:35 pm Pacific) Senior 10,000m Run Finals Six-time All-American, Four-time CAA Athlete of the Year, 2015 World Cross Country Championships
Christo Landry '08 Thu., June 25 11:15 pm Eastern (8:15 pm Pacific) Senior 10,000m Run Finals Three-time All-American, American Record-Holder at 25K, 2012 & 2014 USARC Champion
Jon Grey '11 Thu., June 25 11:15 pm Eastern (8:15 pm Pacific) Senior 10,000m Run Finals Three-time All-American, 2011 USAT&F Club Cross Country Champion, 2015 World Cross Country Championships
Leia Mistowski '18 Fri., June 26 2:05 pm Eastern (11:05 am Pacific) Junior Hammer Throw Finals CAA Champion, School Record-Holder
Faris Sakallah '17 Sat., June 27 1:00 pm Eastern (10:00 am Pacific) Junior 10,000m Run Finals CAA Champion
Betsy Graney '11 Sat., June 27 4:55 pm Eastern (1:55 pm Pacific) Senior 3,000m Steeplechase Finals  

The Tribe's contingent includes four alumni and two current athletes, with the same breakdown between senior and junior events.  On the current roster, freshman Leia Mistowski (Narragansett, R.I.) and sophomore Faris Sakallah (Chantilly, Va.) will compete Friday and Saturday in the hammer throw and the 10,000m, respectively.  Mistowski was the CAA Champion in the hammer throw, and at the Virginia Challenge broke W&M's school record with a toss of 55.52m (182-2), which was the longest throw in the league since 2011.  She also won three more events this spring, including the Colonial Relays, and finished seventh at the ECAC Championships.  Sakallah earned a CAA title of his own, in the 10,000m, and also finished second and fourth in the 5,000m and the 3,000m steeplechase to complete a difficult weekend at the conference meet.  He went on to place fifth at the IC4A Championships in a lifetime-best 30:48.69.

On the senior level, events all happen on Thursday, beginning with the semifinals of the women's 3,000m steeplechase at 10:05 pm Eastern (7:05 p.m. Pacific).  Betsy Graney '11 will race in that event, aiming for a spot in Saturday's finals.  Graney was a two-time CAA Champion in the steeplechase for the Tribe and qualified for the 2009 NCAA Championships, while running a school-record 10:15.99 at the 2009 ECAC Championships.  After graduating from W&M, Graney finished out her collegiate career at Grand Valley State, and was the 2012 NCAA Division II Champion and National Athlete of the Year while lowering her best to 9:53.85, still a Division II national record.  She currently runs for Asics and Gazelle Sports.

Also on Thursday night, Elaina Balouris '14 will race in the 10,000m.  Balouris was a six-time All-American for W&M, finishing out her career with a fifth-place finish at the 2014 NCAA 10,000m championships.  Balouris is the school-record holder at 3,000m and a past-record holder at both 5,000m and 10,000m, and after graduating last May she signed with adidas and the Boston Athletic Association.  She was fifth at the U.S. 12K road championships, and sixth this winter at the USAT&F Cross Country Championships to qualify for the World Cross Country Championships in her first Team USA appearance.  Balouris' best performance at 10,000m was her 32:46.57 from last year's NCAA meet.

Finally on Thursday night, men's alums Christo Landry '08 and Jon Grey '11 will also run in the 10,000m.  Landry was a three-time All-American in cross country for the Tribe, and after graduating he became a profssional runner for Mizuno, winning the U.S.A. Running Circuit title in 2012 and again in 2014.  Along the way, he won four national road championships, and last year, ran 1:14:18 to set the American record for 25K road races.  Landry set his lifetime-best at 10,000m earlier this year, running 27:55.19.

Grey was also a three-time All-American for W&M, winning honors in all three seasons (cross country, indoor, and outdoor).  After graduating, he battled injuries for a while, winning the 2011 USAT&F Club Cross Country Championships, and this year earned a spot on Team USA at the World Cross Country Championships.  Grey signed with Puma earlier this spring, and ran 27:59.88 at Stanford to earn his world championships qualifier.

Copyright 2019 The College of William & Mary Athletics. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  |  Site Map  |  Customer Care  |  RSS Feeds