Javelin Throwers Smutsky, Trott Win CAA Year-End Awards
Updated: Sunday 06/25/2015 (ET)
by Jacob Skipper
Share |

Related Links
William & Mary claimed both the Athlete and Rookie of the Year honors in men's track and field on Thursday, following a vote by the head coaches of the Colonial Athletic Association.  Javelin throwers Bob Smutsky (Dillsburg, Pa.) and Derek Trott (Old Bridge, N.J.) were honored by the league, marking the first time since 2003 that the same team won both major awards.

Smutsky earned his first All-American honor this spring, after finishing 15th in the javelin at the NCAA Championship finals.  The redshirt-sophomore threw a lifetime-best 71.67m (235-2) at the Penn Relays, winning the collegiate division in a meet-record, and also had an all-time throw of 69.14m (226-10) at the NCAA East Semifinals.  Outside of the NCAA competition, he finished fifth or better in all six regular-season meets.  Smutsky was the runner-up at the CAA Championships in the javelin, which makes him just the fifth winner of the Athlete of the Year award who didn't win the conference title in their event, and the first since 2006.  He also the first javelin thrower in league history to ever be named Athlete of the Year, and the first W&M winner of the top honor since Keith Bechtol '07 in 2007.

The man who beat Smutsky at the conference meet was Trott, who became W&M's fourth-different CAA javelin champion in the last four years, and the third freshman winner in a row.  He threw 60.78m (199-5) for the win on an unseasonably cold and wet morning in Williamsburg, and went on to finish 11th at the IC4A Championships and was the fourth alternate to the NCAA Championships.  Trott began his collegiate career with a lifetime-best 62.64m (205-6) to win the Tribe Invitational, and two weeks later, improved to 63.50m (208-4) at the Colonial Relays.  Trott is the sixth man from W&M to be named the CA Rookie of the Year, and the third javelin thrower in a row for the Tribe joining Smutsky (2013) and All-American Brandon Heroux '12 (2009).

The CAA also honored its All-Academic team on Thursday, including an athlete from each school.  W&M's representative was sophomore Lucas Wratschko (Fairfax, Va.), who was the CAA runner-up in the pole vault.  At the conference meet, Wratschko leapt a lifetime-best 4.95m (16-2.75), eclipsing the 16-foot mark for the first time ever.  He finished second or third in six of 12 competitions in 2014-15, and was an IC4A qualifier both indoors and outdoors.  W&M was also well-represented on the All-CAA teams, which include the top three finished in each event at the CAA Championships.  The Tribe had 28 total all-conference honors, ranking behind only champion Northeastern's 29.

CAA Athlete of the Year: Bob Smutsky, W&M
CAA Rookie of the Year: Derek Trott, W&M
CAA Coach of the Year: Cathrine Erickson, Northeastern
CAA Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Brian Waterfield, W&M

2015 CAA Men’s Track and Field All-Conference Honorees:
100m: Cameron Shaw (UNCW), Kyle Darrow (Northeastern), Jared Lane (Northeastern)
200m: Cameron Shaw (UNCW), Donovan Henry (Northeastern), Damani Wilson (Northeastern)
400m: Donovan Henry (Northeastern), Cody Love (UNCW), Trip Foreman (UNCW)
800m: Paul Duffey (Northeastern), Aaron Combs (UNCW), Kurtis Steck (W&M)
1,500m: Kurtis Steck (W&M), Dawson Connell (W&M), Paul Duffey (Northeastern)
5,000m: Stephen Sollowin (Northeastern), Faris Sakallah (W&M), AJ Tucker (W&M)
10,000m: Faris Sakallah (W&M), Nathaniel Hermsmeier (W&M), Zach Krause (Northeastern)
110m hurdles: Jared Lane (Northeastern), Matthew Foster (UNCW), Jordan Samuels (Northeastern)
400m hurdles: Cody Love (UNCW), Peter Katsarakes (Northeastern), Matthew Foster (UNCW)
3,000m Steeplechase: Ryan Gousse (W&M), Mac Haight (W&M), John Riemer (UNCW)
4x100m relay: Northeastern (Kyle Darrow, Damani Wilson, Donovan Henry, Jared Lane)
-UNCW (Cameron Walton, Vincent Ragland, Cameron Shaw, Brandon McLean)
-William & Mary (Dominic Burkett, Matt Pittard, Kent Grisamer, Davion Hutt)
4x400m relay: UNCW (Jamar Collins-Hall, Aaron Combs, Trip Foreman, Cody Love)
-Northeastern (Donovan Henry, David Johnston, Anthony Pavlich, Damani Wilson)
-William & Mary (Jomar Aryee, Michael Wilkens, Ryan Thomas, Kent Grisamer)
High Jump: Maurice Holmes (UNCW), Chase Johanson (UNCW), Alex Julian (Northeastern)
Pole Vault: Derek O'Connell (W&M), Lucas Wratschko (W&M), Brad Hollowell (UNCW)
Long Jump: Kyle Darrow (Northeastern), Cameron Walton (UNCW), Trey Jones (UNCW)
Triple Jump: Cameron Walton (UNCW), Jordan Samuels (Northeastern), Trey Jones (UNCW)
Shot Put: Taylor Frenia (W&M), Kevin Rosenberg (Northeastern), Ryan Kim (Northeastern)
Discus: Taylor Frenia (W&M), Preston Richardson (W&M), Brian Waterfield (W&M)
Hammer: Brian Waterfield (W&M), Taylor Frenia (W&M), Connor Fugere (Northeastern)
Javelin: Derek Trott (W&M), Bob Smutsky (W&M), Christopher Reider (Northeastern)
Decathlon: Alex Hedrick (W&M), Matt Richards (Northeastern), Matthew Ferri (Northeastern)

CAA Men’s Track and Field All-Academic Team
Cody Love, UNCW
Kevin Rosenberg, Northeastern
Lucas Wratschko, William & Mary

Copyright 2020 The College of William & Mary Athletics. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  |  Site Map  |  Customer Care  |  RSS Feeds