Tribe Football Walk-On Hall of Fame
Updated: Wednesday 01/01/1999 (ET)
Share |

Related Links

In athletics, players develop at various rates and react to competitive situations in different ways. For those reasons, the W&M football coaching staff understands the impact walk-on players, athletes not presented athletic scholarships directly out of high school, can make on the program. W&M has been fortunate to attract many top-quality players as walk-ons who have gone on to earn scholarships and become important parts of the success of Tribe football. Many of these players, wanting to be part of a traditional power like W&M, have turned down other scholarship offers in favor of walking onto the Tribe program with the hopes of earning a scholarship.

These players' dedication to Tribe football have been rewarded by earning scholarships and making the most of their opportunity, on and off the field. Without quality walk-on players the Tribe could not continue to perform at such a high level on the national scene. Notable players who came to W&M as walk-ons include 2010 NFL Draft pick Adrian Tracy (New York Giants), 2004 Walter Payton Award-winning quarterback Lang Campbell, 1995 Yankee Conference Defensive Player of the Year Jason Miller and all-conference safety Sean McDermott (Philadelphia Eagles Defensive Coordinator). Largely due to their unselfish approach to the game and their consummate team play, a number of former walk-ons have gone on to serve as team captains at W&M, including Mike McGowan and Stefon Moody in 1996, McDermott in 1997, Marc Matthie in 2001, both Campbell and Wade Harrell in 2004, Pat Mulloy in 2005, Adrian Tracy in 2009 and Ben Cottingham in 2010.

A sixth-round draft pick by the New York Giants, Tracy established himself as one of the nation's top defensive players throughout his career. A two-time All-American and two-time first-team all-league selection, he ranked seventh nationally with 1.57 tackles for a loss per game and 15th at 0.79 sacks per game as a senior. With 12 sacks in '09, he equaled the single-season school record established by Luke Cullinane in 1996. Tracy finished his career with 62.5 TFLs, which led the nation among all active players, while he set a W&M record with 31 career sacks. He also started every game of his career (47) en route to establishing a school record.

In just two seasons as a starter, Campbell etched his name throughout the College record books, ranking fifth in career passing yards (6,494), fourth in total offense (7,149) and third in touchdown passes (54). In 2004, Campbell established school single-season records for passing yards (3,988), total offense (4,305) and touchdowns (30), as well as touchdowns responsible for (38, as he also had eight rushing TDs). The Winchester, Va., native led William and Mary to a share of the Atlantic 10 title and its first appearance in the NCAA I-AA semifinals, along with the first 11-win season in the 111-year history of the Tribe's program. At the conclusion of the regular season, Campbell was honored as the A-10 Offensive Player of the Year, becoming the first Tribe player to earn the award.

The lists that appear on this page show some of the most prominent W&M players who have come to the Tribe as walk-ons since 1980. Each of these student-athletes went on to earn starting positions and, more importantly, bachelor's degrees from the College.

Jeff Sanders,WR, 1984
Mark Krautheim, OT, 1984
John Nettles, TE, 1985
Davis Pisano, TE, 1986
Rick Mueller, OG, 1987
David Szydlik, WR, 1987
Alan Fortney, C, 1987
John Brosnahan, QB, 1988
Scott Perkins, OG, 1988
David Hickman, C, 1988
Tyrone Shelton, FB, 1990
Mark Compher, WR, 1990
Ray Kingsfield, WR, 1990
Brian Polhemus, FB, 1991
Peter Reid, OT, 1991
Alan Williams, TB, 1991
Joe Person, TE, 1992
Steve Ford, OT, 1992
Scott Wingfield, FB, 1992
Paul Horne, OL/TE, 1994
Charlie White, C, 1996
Matt Byrne, QB, 1996
Warren Roarke, TE, 1996
Josh Whipple, WR, 1997
Mike Hertz, FB, 1997
Billy Commons, WR, 1998
Brian Sorrell, C, 1998
Tom Taliferro, G, 1999
Chris Morris, C, 2000
Brett Sterba, K, 2001
Bryce Lee, WR, 2002
Ian Kemp, TE, 2003
Nick Rogers, FB, 2004
Steve Stocki, OL, 2004
Lang Campbell, QB, 2005
Matt Witham, OT, 2005
Adam Bratton, TE, 2006
Pat Mulloy, OL, 2006
Blair Pritchard, PK/P, 2007
Drew Atchison, TE, 2008
Luke Hiteshew, OL, 2009
Brian Pate, PK, 2010
Mike Callahan, QB, 2011
Jimmy Hobson, FB, 2011
Meltoya Jones, TB, 2012
Ryan Moody, WR, 2012
James Johnson, OG, 2013
Joe Brady, WR, 2013
Michael Graham, QB, 2013
Sean Ballard, WR, 2014
Jarrell Cooper, RB, 2014
Bo Revell, TE, 2014

Greg Glasser, DE, 1985
Kevin Looney, DE, 1985
Mike Drake, SS, 1989
Shawn Davis, FS, 1990
Marc Willson, DE, 1990
Alan Garlic, DE, 1990
Jeff Nielsen, LB, 1991
Palmer Scarritt, DB, 1992
Dan Mueller, P/K, 1992
Rob Tinsley, DE, 1992
Erin McGuire, DB, 1994
Andy Ruckman, DB, 1994
Eric Lambert, LB, 1994
Greg Applewhite, LB, 1995
Jim Simpkins, DE, 1995
Jason Miller, LB, 1996
Stefon Moody, LB, 1997
Mike McGowan, LB, 1997
Jason O'Reilly, DB, 1997
Sean McDermott, DB, 1998
Joe Wilkins, LB, 1998
Brian Shallcross, P/K, 1998
Tim Engel, LB, 1999
Mike Bowler, LB, 2000
Matt Sanger, LS, 2001
Adam Braithwaite, S, 2002
Mike Nagelin, P/K, 2002
Marty Magerko, LB, 2002
Marc Matthie, LB, 2002
Andrew Solomon, LB, 2003
Paul Carpenter, LB, 2004
Wade Harrell, DE, 2005
Justin Kelly, DT, 2005
Mike McCarthy, DT, 2005
Mike Mesi, P, 2005
Thad Wheeler, LB, 2006
Josh Wright, DE, 2007
T.J. O'Neill, LB, 2008
Adrian Tracy, DE, 2010
Ben Cottingham, CB, 2011
Mike Stover, DT, 2011
Jabrel Mines, LB, 2012
Andrew Topping, LS, 2012
Ryan Smith, CB, 2013

Copyright 2020 The College of William & Mary Athletics. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy  |  Terms of Use  |  Site Map  |  Customer Care  |  RSS Feeds