ATLANTA – Georgia State men’s and women’s soccer programs were recognized by United Soccer Coaches as two of the 995 college soccer teams (346 men, 649 women) that posted a team grade point average of 3.0 or higher for the 2018-19 academic year and were named to the organization’s Academic Award Winners list.

Of that total, GSU was one of 258 schools that had both their men’s and women’s programs recognized. Both teams also garnered academic awards from the Sun Belt Conference at the end of September.  

The men’s soccer team was most recently honored by the Sun Belt for having the highest GPA (3.52) among all other men’s soccer teams in the conference. Kwaku Adu-Boahene, Aris Briggs, Kyle Clinton, Clay Dawes, Jack Hilton-Jones, Tristan Jumeau, Logan Luque, Ramon Munoz, Javen Palmer, Victor Pereyra-Zavala, George Rodriguez, Frank Rosenwald and Max Wilkins all earned Sun Belt Commissioner’s List honors for obtaining a GPA of 3.5 or better. On the Academic Honor Roll for a 3.0 or better was Hannes Burmeister, Matthew Fearnley, Gibou George, Max Hemmings, Lukas Joyner, Kyle Lancaster, Dylan Morris, Alex Summerfield and Paul Tyson.

On the women’s side, Lily Barron, Maya Boles, Chanceley Book, Emily Burke, Madi Card, Ella Powell, Caitlin Ray, Anna Remensnyder, Mikella Rodriguez, Brooke Shank and Zorae Tomlin all garnered Sun Belt Commissioner’s List honors. Alex Addington, Hannah Davis, Isabelle Grest, Monique Hundley, Samantha Jacob, Jocelyn Jones, Ava Jouvenel, Lexie Knox, Meagan McInerney, Reiley Mullen, Leslie Sosby and Brisa Zavala were all named to the league’s Academic Honor Roll.

United Soccer Coaches annually celebrates the academic achievements of high school and college soccer teams whose student-athletes collectively demonstrate a commitment to excellence in their studies over the course of a full academic year.

College Team Academic Award recipients are active members of the United Soccer Coaches College Services Program with a composite grade point average of 3.0 or better on a 4.0 scale for all players on the roster for the 2018-19 academic year.