Stay Connected with Duke Athletics
article image
Courtesy: Michael Madrid, USA TODAY Sports
Jaravee Boonchant, Erica Shepherd, Gina Kim
Trio of Blue Devils on ANNIKA Award Watch List
Courtesy: Duke Sports Information
Release: 08/30/2019
BDN+ Premium Content
Related Links

DURHAM, N.C. – The Golf Channel released the preseason ANNIKA Award Watch List Friday morning with a trio of Blue Devils among the 25 golfers selected – Jaravee Boonchant, Gina Kim and Erica Shepherd.

The ANNIKA Award is in its seventh year of presenting the National Player of the Year for women’s golf. Former Duke standout Leona Maguire won the award in both the 2015 and 2017 seasons.

Boonchant came in at No. 9 on the list, while Kim was No. 12 and Shepherd No. 19. Florida State’s Frida Kinhult holds the top slot at No. 1.

A two-time All-America selection, Boonchant is coming off a season where she totaled a 72.17 stroke average in 10 tournaments to go along with three top five and seven top 10 placements. A native of Bangkok, Thailand, Boonchant led Duke with 17 rounds of even or under par.

A product of Chapel Hill, N.C., Kim closed her rookie season with a tied for 10th placement at the NCAA Championship and a tied for sixth finish at the NCAA Regional. In 10 tournaments as a freshman, she notched a 73.40 stroke average and had four top 10 finishes. Kim was named Third Team All-America for her efforts.

Shepherd, a two-time USGA Champion, was selected preseason All-America earlier this week. A native of Greenwood, Ind., Shepherd was a four-time AJGA All-America selection and collected 21 top 10 finishes and 17 top five placements on the AJGA over a span of five years.

The Blue Devils will open the season in the ANNIKA Intercollegiate, which will take place Sept. 16-18 at the Royal Golf Club in Lake Elmo, Minn.

ANNIKA Award Watch List

1. Frida Kinhult, Florida State
2. Andrea Lee, Stanford
3. Albane Valenzuela, Stanford
4. Emilia Migliaccio, Wake Forest
5. Jennifer Chang, USC
6. Sierra Brooks, Florida
7. Kaitlyn Papp, Texas
8. Gabriela Ruffels, Southern California
9. Jaravee Boonchant, Duke
10. Olivia Mehaffey, Arizona State
11. Linn Grant, Arizona State
12. Gina Kim, Duke
13. Emma Spitz, UCLA
14. Hailee Cooper, Texas
15. Malia Nam, Southern California
16. Agathe Laisne, Texas
17. Angelina Ye, Stanford
18. Yusang Hou, Arizona
19. Erica Shepherd, Duke
20. Pimnipa Panthong. Kent State
21. Pauline Roussin-Bouchard, South Carolina
22. Sofia Garcia, Texas Tech
23. Siyun Liu, Wake Forest
24. Caterina Don, Georgia
25. Kaleigh Telfer, Auburn