Men's Rowing Coaching Staff
Tom Sanford
Director of Rowing
Coach Info:
Position: Director of Rowing
Experience: 16 Years

Tom Sanford took over as the Director of Rowing prior to the 2001-02 season and became the Head Coach of the women's program for the 2007-08 season.

In the 2016 season, the men's team continued their dominating success, winning their 16th straight MAAC tournament. The women's team finished second in the MAAC by a close three point finish.

Beginning the accolades of 2016, Sanford was named the MAAC men's coach of the year. The men's Varsity Eight and Second Varsity Eight were named to the All-MAAC team, while the women's Second Varsity Eight was recognized. 

In 2013, Sanford led the women's team to its 10th MAAC Championship in program history and earned the conference's first ever automatic qualification to the NCAA Rowing Championships. Marist became the first program out of the MAAC to ever reach the NCAA Championships.

Under Sanford, the Marist women's team has won six MAAC Championships, while the Marist men have never lost a MAAC Championship, winning the past 15.

In 2005, Marist swept the New York State (NYS) Championships, winning on both the men's and women's side. The men posted indiviual championships in the Varsity Eight, the Second Varsity Eight and the Novice Eight while the women's took the Varsity Eight. The women's Second Varsity Eight also won a NYS Championship in 2008.

Sanford has had two rowers continue on to compete at the international level. Lisa D'Aniello (class of 2008) rowed in the U.S. Lightweight Doubles boat at the 2008 U23 World Rowing Championships in Brandenburg, Germany. D'Aniello's boat took 6th place in the "B" final.

Additionally, Hillary Saeger (2007) has raced in three World Championships, rowing in the U.S. Lightweight Quadruple Scull boat. Saeger competed in the 2009 World Rowing Championships in Poznan, Poland and won a silver medal in the 2010 World Championships in New Zealand and a bronze medal in the 2011 World Championships in Bled, Slovenia.

Sanford helped fulfill his father's, the late Scott Sanford, dream when he took the 2002 Marist Men's Varsity 8 to the Royal Henley Regatta in England. The Red Foxes won the Reading Cup the week prior to the Henley Regatta, defeating Yale and Colgate. Marist entered the Temple Challenge Cup and knocked off three European crews, before bowing out in the semifinals to eventual champion Harvard.

Sanford served as the freshman crew coach at Georgetown University from 1998-2001, after a stint in the same position from 1991-94. Under his direction the Hoyas freshman team captured the gold in the freshmen 8 at the 2000 and 2001 Avaya Championship. Sanford led the Georgetown freshmen 4 to a silver medal at the 2000 IRA Championship and in 1992 had an undefeated freshmen 8 crew, which captured the Dad Vail Regatta gold medal.

Sanford served as a Graduate Assistant at Syracuse University from 1995-98 working with both the freshman and varsity programs. He has also served as an assistant for the US National Team and US Pre-Elite Team.

Sanford earned a Bachelor of Arts degree from the University of Pennsylvania in 1991 and earned his Juris Doctor in May 1998 from Syracuse University College of Law.

Marist Accolades Under Sanford

All-MAAC Boat of the Year (started in 2012) (6): 2015-16 - Men: Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight. Women: Second Varsity Eight. 2012-13 – Second Varsity Eight. 2011-12 – Varsity Eight, Second Varsity Eight.

MAAC All-Academic Team (194): 2015-16 - Men: Dylan Galimi, Ryan Lillis, Kyle Mikesh, Morgan Stippa, David Warner. Women: Erica Bogdan, Kelsi Cottrell, Julia Czarnecki, Caroline Defrancesco, Kiera Egan, Kimberly Foster, Mahra Lawrence, Katherine Perry, Julia Rigothi, Ali Shaw, Bridget Sheerin, Caroline Withers. 2012-13 - Samantha Blau, Kelsey Butta, Samantha Cillo, Jenn DeLisle, Annie Devorak, Theresa Fillippini, Jenny Flanagan, Jennifer Guzzardi, Elizabeth Hehir, Amanda Khoury, Stephanie Moriarty, Taylor Mullaney, Kimberly Orzech, Meaghan Perry, Andrew Rosenstein, Flavia Siclovan, Danielle Villa, Kristin Wilson. 2011-12 - Melanie Banks, Kelsey Butta, Angela Carafas, Jenn DeLisle, Theresa Fillipini, Jennifer Guzzardi, Maggie Kolb, Tory Mather, Tayler Mullaney, Kimberly Orzech, Breeanne Rodriguez, Ayla Rosen, Flavia Siclovan, Marissa Soprano. 2010-11 – Melanie Banks, Kelsey Butta, Angela Carafas, Lydia Charney, Courtney Coms, Jennifer DeLisle, Kelly Furlong, Julianne Homola, Abby Ketner, Cassandra Koegl, Margaret Kolb, Megan Mahoney, Victoria Mather, Katelyn McLoughlin, Sophie Ordway, BreeAnne Rodriguez, Ayla Rosen, Marissa Soprano. 2009-10 – Rebecca Belanger, Meredith Boyd, Angela Carafas, Lydia Charney, Kelly Furlong, Julianne Homola, Abigail Ketner, Cassandra Koegl, Margaret Kolb, Megan Mahoney, Victoria Mather, Ashley Mitchell, Sophie Ordway, BreeAnne Rodriguez, Ayla Rosen, Kara Satalin, Marissa Soprano, Sarah Sterner, Brianne Yantz. 2008-09 – Amanda Bassett, Rebecca Belanger, Meredith Boyd, Elyse Calcerano, Lydia Charney, Kaleigh Cole, Talia Fluger, Kelly Furlong, Zerina Garcia, Abigail Ketner, Cassandra Koegel, Megan Mahoney, Ashley Mitchell, Sophie Ordway, Christine Page, Caitlin Perry, Kara Satalin, Sarah Shoemaker, Sarah Sterner, Lindsey Wright, Brianne Yantz, Megan Yarchak. 2007-08 – Holly Adler, Becky Allison, Amanda Bassett, Lisa Brass, Lisa D’Aniello, Marissa Eigenbrook, Zerina Garcia, Rachel Mewaldt, Ashley Mitchell, Christine Page, Caitlin, Perry, Sarah Shoemaker, Sarah Sterner, Lindsey Wright, Brianne Yantz, Megan Yarchak. 2006-07 – Holly Adler, Julie Brown, Lisa D’Aniello, Marissa Eigenbrood, Sheila Finnegan, Anna Foster, Courtney Gomola, Melissa McDonnell, Rachel Mewaldt, Christine Page, Caitlin Perry, Sarah Shoemaker, Lindsey Wright, Megan Yarchak, Maria Zandri. 2005-06 - Laura Coppola, Catherine Danaher, Amanda Johncock, Rebecca Lecius, Caitlin Melnick, Jaclyn Nolan, Sheila Finnegan, Anna Foster, Margaret Hoar, Maria Zandri, Lisa D'Aniello, Marissa Eigenbrood, Melisa McDonnell, Rachel Mewaldt. 2004-05 - Jen Cecchi, Lisa Moynihan, Laura Coppola, Catherine Danaher, Amanda Johncock, Rebecca Lecius, Caitlin Melnick, Sheila Finnergan, Anna Foster, Margaret Hoar, Mary Jamison, Heidi Kleister, Mary Zandri. 2003-04 – Jamie Beler, Jennifer Cecchi, Laura Coppola, Catherine Danaher, Emily Geiges, Amanda Johncock, Rebecca Lecius, Lindsay Martel, Caitlin Melnick, Lisa Moynihan, Catherine Nielsen, Rita Popot, Caroline Ross, Katherine Ruppar. 2002-03 - Jen Cecchi, Lindsay Martel, Lisa Moynihan, Maggie Stumpf. 2001-02 - Amanda Augustine, Melissa DiBernardo, Lindsey Martel, Katherine Nee, Rita Popot, Karen Shaw, Maggie Stumpf, and Megan Yost.

Academic All-District (1): 2001-02 - Melissa DiBernardo.