Rifle Teams Compete Well on First Day at SoCon
Courtesy: VMIKeydets.com

STATESBORO, Ga. – After a solid opening day at the 2019 Southern Conference Rifle Championship, the VMI rifle teams stand in the middle of the pack at the Shooting Sports Education Center hosted by Georgia Southern University in Statesboro, Georgia.


With the teams only competing in the smallbore Saturday, the VMI men stand in fourth place with 2221 points while the VMI women are currently in sixth place with 2169 points. UAB presently sits in first place with 2261 with the air rifle competition still to go Sunday.


Junior Kelia Aardema of the VMI women’s team led all Keydet participants today by arriving in 10th overall in the field with 564 points in the competition. Hunter Jacob of the men’s team followed in 13th place with 559 points with Nick Reynolds right behind with a 558.


Senior Jon Pitman shot a 554 for 17th place in the field just ahead of William Davidson’s 550 for 21st in the individual standings. Freshman Jessica Hankin of the women’s team is in 23rd place with 547 points and Simon Krauthamer of the men’s team is currently in 25th place with a 543 smallbore tally.


The Southern Conference Championship continues Sunday with the air rifle competition to determine the overall champion.


Team Standings – Day One – Smallbore

UAB – 2261

North Georgia – 2254

The Citadel – 2249

VMI Men – 2221

Wofford – 2198

VMI Women – 2169

Georgia Southern – 2156

The Citadel Women – 1997


VMI Men – 2221 points

Hunter Jacob – 13th – 559

Nick Reynolds – 14th – 558

John Pitman – 17th – 554

William Davidson – 21st – 550

Simon Krauthamer – 25th – 543


VMI Women – 2169 points

Kelia Aardema -  10th – 564

Jessica Hankin – 23rd – 547

Samantha Reid – 27th – 539

Claire Lee – 33rd – 519

Savanah Diamond – 34th – 516


All-Southern Conference Smallbore
First team
Tobin Sanctuary, North Georgia

Michael Dietz, UAB

Ricky Medina, UNG

Rosemary Kramer, Georgia Southern

Courtney Weekley, Georgia Southern

Second team
Dan Wesson, Wofford

Isabelle Blystone, The Citadel

Sophia Flores, UAB

Kimberlee Nettles, UNG

Lucas Gilliland, UNG