Article Image
Courtesy: WMU

Broncos Have 12 Named MAC Distinguished Scholar Athlete

Courtesy: Rob Beuerlein, Associate Director Media Relations
Release: 06/24/2016
Print RSS

CLEVELAND – The Mid-American Conference announced its Spring 2016 MAC Distinguished Scholar Athletes with 12 Western Michigan student-athletes from six different sports earning the honors on Friday.

Softball and men’s tennis each had the most members on the list with three selections apiece as Kelsea Cichocki, Allyson Kus and Melissa Palmer earned the honor for softball and Ruben Greiner, Matthew Hamilton and Daniel Loebel were awarded from men’s tennis. Julie Champion and Kaitlyn Watkins were given the distinction from women’s golf while Savannah Dugan and Raychel Figurski represented women’s track and field. Grant Miller represented baseball and Tracy Kuhle represented women’s tennis.

The Distinguished Scholar Athlete is a second-year award given to students who have excelled in athletics and academics. Following each season from the fall sports schedule, any student with a 3.20 GPA and participation in at least 50 percent of the contests was automatically named to the previously announced Academic All-MAC Team from each sport. Also, first-year students and junior college transfers in their first year of residence were not eligible for the award.

From the Academic All-MAC Teams, the faculty athletic representatives selected the ‘best of the best’ of our Academic All-MAC Teams to be honored with Distinguished Scholar Athlete Award for the 2015-16 season. The number of Distinguished Scholar Athletes from each sport were equivalent to the number of first-team selections or 33% of nominees, whichever was greater.