Don't have an account? Click Here
W Swimming/Diving
Mona Plummer Aquatic Center

Mona Plummer Aquatic Center The Mona Plummer Aquatic Center, located at the intersection of Stadium Drive and College Street on the campus of Arizona State University, is regarded as one of the country's finest outdoor swimming and diving facilities.

The plant, which opened in July, 1981, consists of three pools - an Olympic-size, 50 meter by 25 yards, seven-foot deep competition pool with a movable bulkhead; a 25-yard, 18-foot diving well; and a 25-yard eight-lane warm-up pool.

The complex also offers a diving tower. The tower has three platforms (5, 7.5 and 10 meters), four springboards and a pair of 1- and 3-meter boards, which flank the tower.

The Mona Plummer Aquatic Center, which seats 2,000 spectators, was host to the 1993 and 1998 Pac-10 Diving Championships. In 1999 it hosted the NCAA Zone E Diving Championships. The complex also served as the site to the Pac-10 and NCAA Zone E Diving Championships in 1991 and 1989. Other notable events which have been held at the complex include the 1990 U.S. Junior National Diving Championship, the 1988 USS Junior National West Region Championship, the U.S. Masters Diving Championship and a 1988 competition between ASU and Team USA prior to the Olympic Games. In 1983 the WCAA Championship and a water polo exhibition between the U.S. National team and ASU also took place at the complex.

The formal dedication for the aquatic center was held Oct. 31, 1986 after the Arizona State Board of Regents named the facility on Mar. 1, 1985, after the late Mona Plummer.

Plummer, who passed away during the spring of 1985, served as the head women's swimming coach for 22 years (1957-79) at ASU and coached the Sun Devils to eight national championships. She was named assistant athletic director in 1975 before being promoted to associate athletic director duties in 1977.

While at ASU, Plummer tutored nine Olympians and nearly four dozen all-Americas. The graduate of the University of Alabama was selected the national coach of the year in 1979, when the Sun Devils finished second at the AIAW Championships after winning the 1977 and 1978 titles. ASU captured the national crown from 1967 through 1974.

"She was the premier swimming coach during her era and her success helped all other women's sports at Arizona State University prosper," ASU associate athletic director Herman Frazier said. "The dedication of our aquatic center could not have gone to a better person."

Arizona State Sun Devils W Swimming/Diving
FB Renewals