Walsh Named First Team All-Conference
Courtesy: Brian McWalters Photography
Related Links

SPARTANBURG, S.C. - For a second straight year, VMI senior defender Kyle Walsh has been announced a First Team All-Southern Conference honoree as a defender announced by the league offices Tuesday afternoon in Spartanburg, South Carolina.

Walsh currently leads all NCAA Division I lacrosse players in caused turnovers per game as he averaged 3.23 during the regular season (42 over 13 games) ahead of Sacred Heart's Joseph Cipoletti average of 3.17 per game. The duo ranks well ahead of the rest of the pack as Craig Chick of Lehigh ranks third in the nation with a 2.40 caused turnovers per game average.

The Easton, Pennsylvania, native led VMI's defensive unit that ranked second in the league in caused turnovers per game averaging 10.31 per match (134 over 13 games). Walsh also ranked fifth in the conference in groundballs per game by averaging 5.0 per match (65 groundballs over 13 games).

Walsh was named to the All-SoCon First Team after his junior season after ranking second in the nation in caused turnovers per game and 12th in the NCAA in groundballs per game.He finished his career last Saturday ranked first all-time in career caused turnovers and second in career ground balls at VMI. For the NCAA, Kyle will finish third all-time in NCAA career caused turnovers. He will receive a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering next month and commission a second lieutenant in the United States Marine Corps.

Sophomore Asher Nolting of High Point was named the Offensive Player of the Year while Brandon Jones of the Air Force Academy was named the Defensive Player of the Year. Riley Seay of Bellarmine was named SoCon Freshman of the Year.

Offensive Player of the Year

Asher Nolting, High Point, So., A


Defensive Player of the Year

Brandon Jones, Air Force, Sr., D


Freshman of the Year

Riley Seay, Bellarmine, M


Coach of the Year

Jon Torpey, High Point


All-Southern Conference

First Team

A                Asher Nolting, High Point, So.

A                Teddy Hatfield, Richmond, Sr.

A                Ryan Lanchbury, Richmond, So.

M               William Holcomb, Furman, Sr.

M               Jack Dolan, Jacksonville, So.

M               Mitch Savoca, Richmond, So.

D                Brandon Jones, Air Force, Sr.

D                Jordan Young, Jacksonville, Fr.

D                Jason Reynolds, Richmond, So.

D                Kyle Walsh, VMI, Sr.

GK             Tim Troutner Jr., High Point, Sr.

FO             Trent Harper, Air Force, Sr.

SSM           Roland Wheeler IV, Air Force, Sr.

LSM           Sean Menges, Richmond, Jr.


Second Team

A                Trey Lervick, Air Force, Jr.

A                Chris Young, High Point, R-Sr.

A                Eric Applegate, Jacksonville, Sr.

M               Jack Flynn, Air Force, Jr.

M               Riley Seay, Bellarmine, Fr.

M               Evan Tyler, Jacksonville, Jr.

D                Quentin Carlile, Air Force, Fr.

D                Josh Wehn, Bellarmine, Sr.

D                Dixon Smith, Jacksonville, So.

GK             Alec Van de Bovenkamp, Furman, Jr.

FO             Ashton Wood, Mercer, Fr.

SSM           Zack Deaken, Jacksonville, Fr.

LSM           Michael O'Brien, Mercer, Jr.


All-Freshman Team

Quentin Carlile, Air Force, D

Riley Seay, Bellarmine, M

Hunter Vines, High Point, M

Jordan Young, Jacksonville, D

Sean Goldsmith, Mercer, A

Ashton Wood, Mercer, FO