Keydets to Face Wofford in SoCon Tournament
Courtesy: Randall Wolf Photography

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – Coming off a loss Sunday at home to Western Carolina, the VMI women's soccer team has earned a No. 10 seed to this week's Southern Conference Tournament and will face No. 7 seed Wofford on Wednesday night at 7 Spartanburg, South Carolina.

The tournament begins Wednesday with a pair of first-round matches on campus sites. The quarterfinal round follows on Nov. 2 and 3 at campus sites, while the semifinals and championship will be played at UNCG Soccer Stadium on the campus of UNC Greensboro on Nov. 8 and 10, respectively.  

Wofford, which won 1-0 at The Citadel on Sunday afternoon to finish 3-6 in conference play, claimed the No. 7 seed, while ETSU is No. 8. The Terriers will welcome No. 10 VMI to campus on Oct. 30 at 7 p.m., while the Bucs will host No. 9 The Citadel at 7 p.m.

No. 1 Samford will host either ETSU or The Citadel on Saturday, Nov. 2, at 2 p.m. CT, while No. 2 Furman will take on the winner of the Wofford and VMI contest on Sunday, Oct. 3 at 2 p.m.

The tournament winner earns the league’s automatic bid to the NCAA Women’s Soccer Championship.

No. 10 VMI vs. No. 7 Wofford - SoCon Digital Network 

No. 10 VMI vs. No. 7 Wofford - Live Stats 


2019 Women's Soccer Championship

Wednesday, Oct. 30

First Round (at higher seeds)

Match 1: No. 9 The Citadel at No. 8 ETSU, 7 p.m.

Match 2: No 10 VMI at No. 7 Wofford, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Nov. 2 
Quarterfinals (at higher seeds)
Match 3: Winner Match 1 at No. 1 Samford, 2 p.m. CT

Sunday, Nov. 3
Quarterfinals (at higher seeds)

Match 4: No. 5 Western Carolina at No. 4 Mercer, 4 p.m.
Match 5: Winner Match 2 at No. 2 Furman, 2 p.m.
Match 6: No. 6 Chattanooga at No. 3 UNCG, 4 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 8
Semifinals (UNCG Soccer Stadium; Greensboro, N.C.)

Match 7: Winner Match 3 vs. Winner Match 4, 4 p.m.
Match 8: Winner Match 5 vs. Winner Match 6, 6:30 p.m.  

Sunday, Nov. 10
Final (UNCG Soccer Stadium; Greensboro, N.C.)
Match 9: Winner Match 7 vs. Winner Match 8, 2 p.m.

*all times eastern unless otherwise noted