Article Image
Courtesy: Tim Cowie
View Photo
Consuegra named to inaugural Conference USA Coaches Circle
IRVING, Texas – Charlotte head women’s basketball coach Cara Consuegra was among the first recipients of the inaugural Coaches Circle accolade, the Conference USA office announced Monday morning as part of its postseason superlative awards announcement.

Consuegra earned her spot among the Coaches Circle, a new honor given to coaches who receive at least one vote in the coach of the year voting. She led the Niners to a 19-10 overall record and 12-6 mark in Conference USA, securing the No. 4 seed and double-bye for the upcoming league tournament. The fifth-year coach began the campaign fifth in school history for wins and has quickly risen to third, and entering tournament play two shy of tying for second with her boss and the program’s first coach, Judy (Wilkins) Rose.

Consuegra guided Charlotte the GSU Thanksgiving Classic crown in November, a five-game win streak in February and to victories in nine of its last 11 regular-season contests. The 49ers posted a 12-2 mark inside Halton Arena and have won their last eight-in-a-row on their home floor, all against league opponents. Charlotte is one of 12 schools nationally to rank among the Top 25 for scoring offense (75.6 ppg) and field goal percentage (46.1), both marks which pace Conference USA by wide margins. The 49ers are the league leaders in both categories during league action with 73.7 and 46.1, respectively.

Charlotte had four players receive postseason all-league honors, as senior Alexis Alexander and junior Lefty Webster collected All-Conference USA Second Team mention and Grace Hunter and Laia Raventós picked up All-Conference USA Freshman Team plaudits.

Charlotte will not play again until approximately 2:30 p.m. ET Thursday in the Conference USA Championships Quarterfinals due to claiming the No. 4 seed and double-bye. The 49ers have a chance to play one of three opponents, depending on outcomes of earlier-round competition. Potential foes include No. 5 seed Old Dominion, No. 12 seed Florida Atlantic and No. 13 seed North Texas.