Men Place Fifth, Women Eighth at SoCon Championship
Courtesy: Southern Conference

CULLOWHEE, N.C. –  Looking to finish the season strong, the VMI cross country men placed fifth with 169 points and the women took eighth with 190 points to conclude the 2018 campaign Saturday in Cullowhee, North Carolina.

The men’s team was led by Davone Henderson, who placed 11th in the field with an 8k time of 25:55.12 to receive Second Team All-SoCon honors. VMI’s second finisher, Gavin Jenkins, came in 32nd overall in 27:11.23 to earn SoCon All-Freshman team recognition. Justin Adams and Andre Jordan arrived soon after Jenkins. Kellen Reeves also scored team points for the men.

“For the eight men who finished the race today, none of these eight athletes had raced at SoCons last year,” said VMI coach Dr. Drew Ludtke. “We were very inexperienced coming into this race.  Even with the inexperience, I felt we had a good meet. We did not run any seniors and only one junior, making us one of the younger teams at the meet. There is potential to have some great teams in the coming years.” 

The VMI women placed eighth in the conference race with 190 points. As it was all season, Anna Armfield and Logan Luckett led the pack for VMI as the women garnered 190 points in the race. Sara Belamarich, Kathleen Yates and Emily Hattman also scored team points for the Keydets.

“Our women had a great meet scoring 24 less points than last year. Luckett and Armfield continue to lead the ladies’ team.  I was happy with each individual athlete. Similar to the men, the ladies have no seniors and have a very bright future.

“We were able to move up one team place from last year. I was happy with the effort and dedication of the ladies. They are engaged, set goals and created a positive team environment at the meet.”

For the sixth consecutive season, both the Furman men’s and women’s teams placed first overall in the competition.



Anna Armfield … 22nd … 19:03.24

Logan Luckett … 23rd … 19:05.61

Sara Belamarich … 45th … 19:52.21

Kathleen Yates … 58th … 20:29.60

Emily Hattman … 63rd … 20:48.68

Olivia Smoot … 70th … 21:51.28

Isabela Melendez … 73rd … 22:06.10

Skylar Pierce … 75th … 22:44.



Davone Hernandez … 11th … 25:55.12 (All-SoCon Second Team)

Gavin Jenkins … 32nd … 27:11.23 … (SoCon All-Freshman team

Justin Adams … 34th … 27:20.20

Andre Jordan … 47th .. 28;01.56

Kellen Reeves … 62nd … 28:32.65

Walt Kitson … 65th … 28:48.53

Ian Irrizarry … 73rd … 29:28.92

Zach Lauster … 75th … 29:28.92



Men’s Team Scores

  1. Furman – 23
  2. ETSU – 57
  3. Samford – 72
  4. UNCG - 138
  5. VMI - 169
  6. Western Carolina - 184
  7. Mercer - 185
  8. Chattanooga - 203
  9. Wofford - 238
  10. The Citadel - 262

Women’s Team Scores

  1. Furman- 25
  2. Chattanooga- 84
  3. Samford- 103

T4. ETSU – 126

T4.Wofford – 126

  1. Western Carolina – 150
  2. UNCG – 180
  3. VMI – 190
  4. Mercer – 250
  5. The Citadel - 281

Men’s First-Team All-SoCon

  1. Aaron Templeton, Furman
  2. Ben Varghese, ETSU
  3. Dillon Dean, Samford
  4. Mason Coppi, Furman
  5. Dillon Dean, Samford
  6. Cameron Ponder, Furman
  7. Daniel Bernal, Furman

Women’s First-Team All-SoCon

  1. Hannah Steelman, Wofford
  2. Savannah Carnahan, Furman
  3. Emma Grace Hurley, Furman
  4. Gabrielle Jennings, Furman
  5. Lindsey Stallworth, ETSU
  6. Shian Mallory, Samford
  7. Riley Burr, Furman

Men’s Second-Team All-SoCon

  1. Trent Mandato, Furman
  2. Jake Ogden, Furman
  3. Noah Charles, ETSU 
  4. Davone Hernandez, VMI
  5. Ben Bryant, Samford
  6. Owen Bailey, Samford
  7. Matthew Scarr, ETSU

Women’s Second-Team All-SoCon

  1. Kaitlyn Lingard, Western Carolina
  2. Kristlin Gear, Furman
  3. Emma Kuntz, Furman
  4. Emily Poole, Chattanooga
  5. Reilly Caldwell, Furman
  6. Makenzie Jones, Chattanooga
  7. Jennifer Stephenson, Furman

Men’s All-Freshman Team

  1. Thomas Knepshield, UNCG
  2. Robert Zell, Mercer
  3. Jonathan Boyd, Chattanooga
  4. Gavin Jenkins, VMI
  5. Gavin Cooper, ETSU
  6. Brandon Hernandez, UNCG
  7. Cameron Ponder, Furman

Women’s All-Freshman Team

  1. Emma Kuntz, Furman
  2. Reilly Caldwell, Furman
  3. Shila Kapaya, ETSU
  4. Genevieve Schwarz, ETSU
  5. Mary Thorne, Samford
  6. Carter Marchbanks, Samford
  7. Hannah Corson, Mercer

Men’s Freshman of the Year

Cameron Ponder, Furman


Women’s Freshman of the Year

Shila Kapaya, ETSU


Men’s Runner of the Year

Aaron Templeton, Furman


Women’s Runner of the Year

Hannah Steelman, Wofford


Men’s Pinnacle Award Recipient

Mason Coppi, Furman


Women’s Pinnacle Award Recipient

Savannah Carnahan, Furman

Men’s Coach of the Year

Robert Gary, Furman

Women’s Coaches of the Year

Robert Gary, Furman